🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Alabama: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Alabama licenses social workers in four classes: the Licensed Bachelor Social Worker, the Licensed Master Social Worker (non-clinical or clinical), the Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker, and the Private Independent Practice certification.

The clinical license is the LICSW: a CSWE-accredited MSW or DSW, a current LMSW, not less than 3,000 work hours with 96 hours of supervision from a board-approved LICSW, and an exam prescribed by the Board.

The rule gives that window both a 3-year and a 4-year maximum, and independent-contractor social casework takes a separate PIP certification.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Alabama, that is the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners.

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW).

Alabama's clinical tier is not the LCSW; the LICSW may engage in private practice in all areas except social casework (850-X-2-.02).

Other license levels

Licensed Bachelor Social Worker (LBSW) and Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), the LMSW issued with a non-clinical or clinical designation, plus the Private Independent Practice (PIP) certification on the LICSW and a one-time 12-month provisional status for approved candidates still testing.

Degree

A social work degree from a program approved, accredited, or in candidacy with the Council on Social Work Education at every tier: a BSW for the LBSW, an MSW or DSW for the LMSW and LICSW.

The LICSW applicant must also hold a current LMSW (850-X-6-.01(3)).

Supervised experience

Not less than 3,000 work hours of post-master's experience and 96 hours of supervision, concurrent with employment of no less than 10 hours per week: a minimum of four hours of supervision per month for 24 months within a 36-month period, under a board-approved LICSW (850-X-3-.04(2)(g)-(j), (3)).

ASWB exam

The rules require at each level only an exam as prescribed by the Board and do not name the ASWB category per tier; the Board's FAQ sends candidates to the ASWB licensing exam, but the exam level per tier is not stated in the sources read.

Supervisor requirement

Clinical-track supervision must come from a board-approved LICSW; a LICSW supervisor may supervise upon obtaining the clinical license, must complete a board-acceptable training program and three hours of supervision CE every biennium, and may not charge their own employee for supervision (850-X-3-.01; 850-X-3-.02).

Social Work Compact

Enacted: Alabama is on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of jurisdictions that have passed the compact legislation as of September 2026; the enacting act number and date were not located in a primary source.

No multistate licenses are being issued as of the research date.

Renewal & CE

Licenses expire two years from issue, with a 60-day renewal window.

Each two-year period takes 30 CE hours: 10 classroom/live event and 3 in ethics; LICSWs add 3 hours in clinical social work education (since October 2018) and 3 hours on the most recent DSM (since 2023).

The Alabama credential ladder

  1. Provisional statusPre-licensure

    A one-time status, not a license class: an approved candidate may practise social work during the twelve months they have to test, and it goes inactive if they are not licensed when the twelve months run out (850-X-6-.03).

  2. Licensed Bachelor Social Worker(LBSW)Other

    The baccalaureate license on a CSWE-approved, accredited or candidacy BSW; an LBSW works under continuing board-approved supervision for two years and a minimum of 96 hours, then may practise without further supervision while remaining in the same field of practice (850-X-2-.02(1); 850-X-3-.04(1)).

  3. Licensed Master Social Worker(LMSW)Pre-licensure

    A full license in its own right, issued with a non-clinical or clinical designation made upon receiving it, and the license under which LICSW hours are earned; clinical-track supervision must come from a board-approved LICSW (850-X-2-.02(2)).

  4. Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker(LICSW)Independent

    The clinical license: a CSWE master's or doctorate, a current LMSW, not less than 3,000 work hours with 96 hours of supervision, and the Board-prescribed exam; the LICSW may engage in private practice in all areas of social work except social casework (850-X-2-.02(3)).

  5. Private Independent Practice certification(PIP)Other

    A certification on a current LICSW, not a separate license, required to practise as an independent contractor in social casework; it takes three years full-time or five years part-time of postgraduate social casework experience, or one year full-time or two years part-time after the LICSW (850-X-2-.02(4)).

  6. Board-approved supervisorSupervisor

    A status applied for on Form A, open to an LBSW with five years post-licensure, an LMSW with three, and a LICSW upon obtaining the clinical license; a LICSW supervisor may supervise clinical experience toward the LICSW and must complete a board-acceptable training program plus three hours of supervision CE every biennium (850-X-3-.01).

Four classes, and the clinical tier is the LICSW

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-2-.02

Alabama recognizes four classes of social worker, and the acronym does not travel: the clinical tier here is the LICSW, not the LCSW.

The LMSW must designate non-clinical or clinical upon receiving the license, and the designation changes who may supervise β€” clinical-track supervision must come from a board-approved LICSW, while a non-clinical LMSW may be supervised by an LMSW with three years of post-licensure experience or an LICSW.

The LBSW carries its own supervision obligation, two years and a minimum of 96 hours, after which the LBSW may practise without further supervision in the same field; the Board's FAQ says a move to a different type of practice or client population adds six months of supervision.

The fourth class, Private Independent Practice, is a certification on the LICSW rather than a license of its own.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œAlabama law recognizes four classes of Social Workers: Licensed Bachelor Social Worker; Licensed Master Social Worker; Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker; Private Independent Practice.”

One degree rule at every tier: approved, accredited, or in candidacy

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-6-.01(3); Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners FAQ

Every tier requires a social work degree from a program approved, accredited, or in candidacy with the Council on Social Work Education β€” a baccalaureate for the LBSW, a master of social work or doctor of social work for the LMSW and LICSW.

Candidacy counts, which matters if your program was accredited after you graduated.

The LICSW adds two conditions: the applicant must hold a current LMSW and have at least two years of post-master or post-doctorate social work experience supervised by a licensed independent clinical social worker.

Exam eligibility also requires being at least nineteen years old and subscribing to the professional code of ethics the Board adopts.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

β€œAny person applying for an Alabama Social Work License must have a degree in social work from a school accredited through the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).”

3,000 work hours, 96 supervision hours, and two maxima

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-3-.04(2)(g)-(j), (3); Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners FAQ

A licensed master's social worker becomes eligible to apply for the LICSW on not less than 3,000 work hours and 96 hours of supervision.

The clinical track earns those 96 hours at a minimum of four hours of supervision per month for 24 months within a 36-month period, concurrent with employment of no less than 10 hours per week of social work practice.

On the overall window the rule disagrees with itself: subsection (g) requires the supervision to be obtained within "a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 3 years," while subsection (h) places the 3,000 work hours and the approved application within "a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 4 years."

Both are in force text; confirm your timeline with the Board rather than averaging them.

The FAQ adds a hard edge: if you fail to complete the 24 months of supervision within the 36-month period, supervision credit will be lost.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œUpon completion of not less than 3,000 work hours and 96 hours of supervision according to the requirements of this section, a licensed master's social worker is eligible to apply for a licensed independent clinical social worker license.”

An exam as prescribed by the Board, and twelve months of provisional status

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-2-.02; 850-X-6-.03; Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners FAQ

Each tier must pass an exam as prescribed by the Board, and the rules never name the ASWB category for any level; the Board's FAQ sends approved applicants to the Association of Social Work Boards licensing exam but likewise states no level.

Do not infer the tier-to-exam mapping β€” ask the Board which exam your tier requires before scheduling.

What the rules do state is timing: after an application is approved, the candidate has twelve months to test, holding a one-time provisional status to practise in the meantime, and if the license has not been issued when the twelve months run out, the status goes inactive and a new application with fees is required.

The FAQ confirms the one-year window and points failed candidates to an online re-examination process.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œAfter an application is approved by the Board the applicant has twelve months from the date of application to test to become a licensed social worker.”

Choosing a supervisor: board-approved status and the LICSW gate

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-3-.01; 850-X-3-.02; 850-X-3-.03(a); 850-X-3-.04(1)(b), (2)(i); 850-X-2-.03(1)

Two rules decide who can count your hours.

The supervisor must hold board-approved supervisor status, applied for on Form A, and for the clinical hours toward the LICSW the supervisor must be a licensed independent clinical social worker β€” a LICSW supervisor may begin upon obtaining the clinical license.

Supervisors complete a training program acceptable to the board and three hours of supervision CE every biennium, and they may not charge their own employee or contract employee for supervision.

Supervision is not synonymous with the employer relationship: the rules put it on the licensee to negotiate a supervisory relationship if the employing agency does not provide one, and contracting for supervision takes the agency's written approval.

Sessions are one-on-one face-to-face or in groups of at most six supervisees.

On the plan's timing the rule states two things: 850-X-3-.04 requires board approval "prior to the start of supervision," while 850-X-3-.03(a) lets the supervisee file the plan "within 30 days of initiating supervision."

Both are in force text; ask the Board when your plan is due before counting hours that predate approval.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œIndividual supervision is defined as one supervisee meeting "face-to-face" with one supervisor, can also be live, interactive, visual communication as long as all three components are met during the session.”

Private practice stops at social casework without the PIP

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-2-.02(3)-(4)

The LICSW may engage in the private practice of social work in all areas except social casework.

Working as an independent contractor in social casework takes the separate Private Independent Practice certification on top of a current LICSW: three years full-time or five years part-time of postgraduate experience in social casework, or one year full-time or two years part-time of that experience earned after the LICSW.

The rule defines private practice as the LICSW's portion that includes practising as an independent contractor in social casework, so for a clinician weighing private clients the certification question comes before the business plan.

An LICSW may also supervise LBSWs and LMSWs toward their independent licensure status.

β€œAn LICSW may engage in the private practice of social work in all areas except for social case work.”

Moving to Alabama: reciprocity where equivalency of standards exists

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-4-.02

Reciprocity runs on an equivalency comparison the Board makes between Alabama's requirements and the law of the state where the applicant holds an active license, granted for whatever level is applicable.

A non-resident who meets the requirements and has taken a social worker licensure examination is not required to take the Alabama examination; they file an Alabama application plus verification from the licensing agency covering license type and number, dates, proof of the examination, verification of supervision, and the disciplinary record.

Two narrower routes sit in the same rule: military spouses relocating to Alabama on orders apply with their license and orders, and during a governor-proclaimed State of Emergency the Board may issue a temporary license to a licensee licensed elsewhere.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œReciprocity shall be granted by the Board to applicants holding active licenses from other states provided equivalency of standards exists.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted, not yet issuing

πŸ“œ Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org); Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners compact fact sheet, 2025-05-16

Alabama is on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of jurisdictions that have passed the compact language, as retrieved in September 2026; the enacting act number and date were not located in a primary source.

The Board's own compact fact sheet, dated May 16, 2025, walks licensees through multistate-license mechanics and a projected timing that has since passed: as of the September 2026 research date, the commission says multistate licenses are not yet being issued.

There is no multistate route into or out of Alabama today β€” practice in another jurisdiction still takes that jurisdiction's own license, by its standard route or its endorsement.

Check the commission's list and the Board before relying on either status.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

β€œThe multistate license is not available as of now. The projected date is late summer/early fall 2026.”

Renewal every two years: 30 CE hours, 10 in the room

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-7-.02; Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners FAQ

Licenses at all levels expire on the last day of the month two years from issuance, and a renewal received within sixty days after expiration is still accepted; later, the license terminates.

Renewal takes 30 continuing education hours over the two-year period, of which 10 must be classroom or live event β€” live interactive Zoom counts, pre-recorded does not β€” and 3 must be in ethics.

LICSWs carry two add-ons the FAQ dates precisely: 3 hours in clinical social work education effective October 2018, and 3 hours on the most recent DSM effective 2023.

A licensee who supervises another licensee also needs 3 hours in supervision education, and out-of-state residents may keep an Alabama license current by completing the same hours and fees.

β€œYou need thirty (30) hours over a two-year period. Of the 30 hours required, 10 must be classroom/live event.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-2-.01; 850-X-3-.01; 850-X-3-.04 (amendment history notes); Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners FAQ

The history notes on the saved rules show three amendments in the window: 850-X-2-.01, the definitions rule, effective September 14, 2023, and 850-X-3-.01, the supervisor-qualification rule, and 850-X-3-.04, the supervision and hours rule, both effective February 13, 2023.

The saved text is the current wording and does not show what each amendment changed.

One CE change is dated in the Board's FAQ: the 3 hours on the most recent DSM for LICSWs took effect in 2023.

The compact picture did not change across the window β€” Alabama was already on the commission's jurisdiction list by the September 2026 retrieval, and no multistate licenses are being issued.

Telehealth: the client must be in Alabama

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 850-X-2-.04

A licensee who provides social work by telehealth to a client located in Alabama must hold an active Alabama license in good standing, obtain and document informed consent, assess whether the client is appropriate for telehealth, use best practices for confidentiality, and keep the communication HIPAA-secure.

The client's location controls: the rule states the client must be located within the borders of the State of Alabama.

For a clinician moving to Alabama, or an employer hiring across state lines, that means the Alabama license β€” not the clinician's location β€” decides who may see an Alabama-located client by video.

β€œThe client must be located within the borders of the State of Alabama.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Alabama statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Alabama, MFT licensure in Alabama, or what therapists earn in Alabama.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Alabama that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can supervise my hours toward the Alabama LICSW?

Only a licensed independent clinical social worker who holds board-approved supervisor status.

The LMSW clinical designation's supervision must come from a board-approved LICSW, and 850-X-3-.04(2)(j) repeats it for the clinical hours: supervision must be provided by a licensed independent clinical social worker.

If your employing agency has no qualified LICSW, you may contract for supervision with the agency's written approval and file the supervision plan with the Board.

Confirm a prospective supervisor's status with the Board before your hours start.

How many supervised hours does the Alabama LICSW require?

Not less than 3,000 work hours of post-master's experience and 96 hours of supervision.

The 96 hours accrue at a minimum of four hours per month for 24 months within a 36-month period, concurrent with employment of at least 10 hours per week.

One caution: subsection (g) of the rule states a maximum of 3 years and subsection (h) a maximum of 4 years for the same window.

Ask the Board which applies to your timeline before you plan around either figure.

I am licensed in another state. Can Alabama reciprocity waive the exam?

Possibly.

Reciprocity is granted to applicants holding active licenses where equivalency of standards exists, and the Board compares Alabama's requirements with the licensing state's.

A non-resident who meets the requirements and has taken a social worker licensure examination is not required to take the Alabama examination.

You file an Alabama application with verification from your licensing agency covering your license, examination, supervision and disciplinary record.

Confirm your state qualifies with the Board before applying.

Can Alabama supervision count if it happens by video?

Yes, if the board-approved supervision plan describes it.

The board favors supervisor and supervisee being in the same geographic place for a substantial part of supervision, but recognizes reliable, technologically-secure computer cameras and microphones as allowing personal face-to-face, though remote, interaction.

Individual supervision can also be live, interactive, visual communication when all three components are met during the session.

The rules state two timings: one requires the plan to be approved prior to the start of supervision, the other allows filing it within 30 days of initiating supervision β€” confirm the deadline with the Board, and describe the delivery method before your hours start.

Which ASWB exam do I take for an Alabama social work license?

The sources read do not say.

Each tier must pass an exam as prescribed by the Board, and neither the rules nor the Board's FAQ names the ASWB category for each level, so the exam level per tier is not stated in the sources read.

The FAQ does confirm that approved candidates take the ASWB licensing exam and have one year from approval, on a one-time provisional status, to test.

Ask the Board which level your tier requires before you schedule.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in Alabama
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Alabama & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners.