🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in New Hampshire: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

New Hampshire licenses clinical social work at the LICSW, the Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker, and issues no license titled LCSW.

The LICSW takes a CSWE-approved 2-year master's or doctorate, then 3,000 hours of post-master's supervised clinical experience completed between 2 and 4 years, with 100 hours of weekly individual face-to-face supervision and the ASWB clinical level exam after 18 months of approved supervision.

Below it: the bachelor's-level LSW, a clinical-scope license supervised for its first 2 years, and the supervised LSWA.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In New Hampshire, that is the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice, administered by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC).

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), issued under RSA 330-A:18.

The clinical and independent social work license carries LICSW initials; no license titled LCSW appears in the statutes read.

Other license levels

Licensed Social Worker (LSW), a bachelor's-level license with statutory clinical-treatment scope, and Licensed Social Work Associate (LSWA), which practices only under clinical supervision.

The chapter also licenses school social workers, and conditional licenses exist for each tier.

Degree

LICSW: a college undergraduate degree plus a 2-year master's or doctorate degree in social work from a school approved by the Council on Social Work Education (RSA 330-A:18, I-II).

LSW: a CSWE-approved bachelor's in social work.

LSWA: an associate's or bachelor's degree in listed behavioral fields.

Supervised experience

LICSW: a minimum of 2 years of post-master's experience including 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience, each year at least 1,500 hours within 12 to 24 months, with 100 hours of individual face-to-face supervision at one hour per week, completed between 2 and 4 years (Mhp 304.02).

The LSW route is separate: 4,000 hours of supervised work experience within 2 but no more than 4 years.

ASWB exam

LICSW: the ASWB clinical level exam, which applicants may take only after at least 18 months under board approved supervision (Mhp 304.03).

LSW: the ASWB bachelors level examination.

LSWA: a uniform competence assessment examination approved by the New Hampshire board, not an ASWB category.

Supervisor requirement

Hours must be supervised by a board approved licensed independent clinical social worker or licensed clinical mental health counselor supervisor (RSA 330-A:18, III) who has completed a graduate course or approved certificate in clinical supervision plus 12 CE hours, and has practiced clinically in New Hampshire for at least 2 years (Mhp 302.03).

Social Work Compact

Enacted.

RSA 330-A:18-e adopts the Social Work Licensure Compact, effective July 1, 2024, and New Hampshire is on the commission's list of member jurisdictions.

As of September 2026 the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses.

Renewal & CE

Every 2 years: the LICSW completes 40 hours of approved CE, at least 30 from Category A, at least 6 in ethics and at least 3 in suicide prevention (Mhp 402.01); the LSW completes 30 hours including 3 ethics and 3 suicide prevention (Mhp 402.02).

Every licensee also completes 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years (Mhp 403.01).

The New Hampshire credential ladder

  1. Conditional licensePre-licensure

    A time-limited license, valid for no more than 2 years with a one-time renewal, issued on a board-approved supervisory agreement with documented intent to pursue licensure, available on the LICSW, school social worker, LSW and LSWA routes (RSA 330-A:18-d).

  2. Licensed Social Work Associate(LSWA)Pre-licensure

    An entry license whose holder may practice only under clinical supervision of an LICSW, licensed mental health counselor, MLADC, psychiatric APRN or board-approved provider, reached by a bachelor's route with 4,000 supervised hours or an associate's route with 6,000, and a board-approved uniform competence assessment examination (RSA 330-A:18-c, III; RSA 330-A:2, VII).

  3. Licensed Social Worker(LSW)Other

    A bachelor's-level license whose statutory scope is the screening, assessment, treatment planning, and treatment of mental health conditions; during the first 2 years of licensure an LSW may practice only under clinical supervision, and the supervising clinician signs off on any clinical diagnostic assessment and treatment plan (RSA 330-A:18-b).

  4. School social workerOther

    A license the chapter lists among its mental health disciplines; the sources read describe its conditional route (a CSWE master's or doctorate plus a board-approved supervisory agreement) but not the full school social worker license's standalone requirements (RSA 330-A:2, V; RSA 330-A:18-d).

  5. Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker(LICSW)Independent

    The clinical and independent license: an undergraduate degree, a CSWE-approved 2-year master's or doctorate in social work, a minimum of 2 years of post-masters experience including 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience, and a passed national proctored examination approved by the board (RSA 330-A:18).

  6. Board-approved supervisorSupervisor

    A status, not a separate license: a board-approved LICSW or licensed clinical mental health counselor supervisor who has completed a graduate course or approved certificate in clinical supervision plus 12 CE hours, has practiced clinically in New Hampshire for at least 2 years, and may supervise no more than 8 candidates at any one time (RSA 330-A:18, III; Mhp 302.03).

Three social work licenses, and the LICSW is the independent one

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18; RSA 330-A:18-b; RSA 330-A:18-c; RSA 330-A:18-d; RSA 330-A:2, VII

New Hampshire issues three social work licenses: the Licensed Social Work Associate (LSWA), the Licensed Social Worker (LSW) and the Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), plus a school social worker license and conditional licenses for each tier.

The independent clinical license carries LICSW initials; no license titled LCSW appears among them.

Where the statutes do say licensed clinical social worker, as the supervision clauses do, RSA 330-A:2, VII resolves it: for purposes of the chapter, the term clinical social worker shall include independent clinical social worker.

The surprise is the LSW: a bachelor's-level license whose statutory scope is the screening, assessment, treatment planning, and treatment of mental health conditions, including preliminary diagnoses for confirmation by an appropriate professional.

That scope starts supervised: during the first 2 years of licensure an LSW may practice only under clinical supervision, and the supervising clinician signs off on any clinical diagnostic assessment and treatment plan.

The LSWA holds the same treatment scope but practices under supervision for as long as the license is held.

The LICSW is the clinical and independent tier.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œDuring the first 2 years of licensure, a licensed social worker may engage in practice only under clinical supervision of a licensed clinical social worker, a licensed mental health counselor, a master licensed drug and alcohol counselor, a psychiatric APRN, or a licensed mental health provider approved by the board.”

The LICSW degree rule: an undergraduate degree plus a 2-year CSWE master's or doctorate

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18, I-II; Mhp 304.01

The LICSW stacks two degrees: a college undergraduate degree, then a 2-year master's or doctorate degree in social work from a school approved by the Council on Social Work Education.

The rule adds a content test: the graduate degree must be a 2-year clinical graduate degree, with course work primarily related to clinical social work in at least 5 of 9 listed areas, from theories of psychopathology to methods of casework or clinical interventions.

A graduate of a non-clinical-concentration MSW program should check their transcript against that list before applying.

The LSW requires a bachelor's degree in social work from a CSWE-approved college or university, plus 300 hours of social work or mental health education and 300 hours of supervised practical training.

The LSWA accepts an associate's or bachelor's degree in listed fields, with the same 300-hour pair.

What separates the LICSW from the LSW is the post-master's hours and the clinical exam, not more coursework.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

3,000 hours, each year at least 1,500, done between 2 and 4 years

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18, III; Mhp 304.02

The statute requires a minimum of 2 years of post-masters experience including 3,000 hours of post-masters supervised clinical experience.

The rule defines the unit: a year of supervised clinical work experience must be at least 1,500 hours completed within not less than 12 and not more than 24 months, for the 3,000-hour total.

Supervision rides on top: a minimum of one hour per week of individual face-to-face supervision for a total of 100 hours, and the supervision must be completed between 2 and 4 years from the date the approved supervision began.

Read together, the hours cannot be compressed below 2 years, and a plan that drifts past 4 years is out of rule.

Hours accumulated before the clinical graduate degree was conferred do not count, and your own independent private mental health practice is not an acceptable setting.

A current MLADC may substitute their experience for up to 1,500 hours of the 3,000 and up to 50% of the face-to-face supervision hours.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œHas completed a minimum of 2 years of post-masters experience including completion of a minimum of 3,000 hours of post-masters, supervised clinical experience by a board approved licensed independent clinical social worker or licensed clinical mental health counselor supervisor, or any other supervisor based on reasonable and specific criteria established in rules adopted under RSA 330-A:10.”

The ASWB clinical level exam, and the 18-month supervision gate

πŸ“œ Mhp 304.03; Mhp 307.01; RSA 330-A:18, IV

Every LICSW applicant must pass the clinical level exam distributed by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) and have the results sent directly to the OPLC.

The gate before it: applicants must have worked under board approved supervision for at least 18 months prior to taking the examination, documented on the Request To Sit form with the Supervisor's Confirmation of Clinical Experience Form.

The LSW sits the ASWB bachelors level examination under Mhp 307.

The LSWA takes a different instrument: a uniform competence assessment examination of social work knowledge, skills, and abilities approved by the New Hampshire board, written into the statute itself rather than drawn from the ASWB categories.

A master's-level candidate should plan the clinical exam around the 18-month supervision mark, not the day the 3,000 hours finish.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œApplicants for independent clinical social work licensure shall have worked under board approved supervision for at least 18 months prior to taking the examination.”

Choosing a supervisor: board approval, 12 CE hours, and an 8-candidate cap

πŸ“œ Mhp 302.03; RSA 330-A:22; RSA 330-A:18, III

The statute names the supervisors: a board approved licensed independent clinical social worker or licensed clinical mental health counselor supervisor, or any other supervisor under criteria the board establishes in rule.

The supervisor rule sets the bar: a graduate level course in clinical supervision, or a clinical supervision certificate approved by the Association for Clinical Pastoral Education, the National Association of Social Workers, the American Mental Health Counselors Association or the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy, plus 12 continuing education hours in clinical supervision before entering the supervision relationship.

The supervisor must be licensed in New Hampshire and have practiced clinically in the state for at least 2 years, must not be related to the candidate or hold a dual relationship, and may supervise no more than 8 candidates at once.

The supervision agreement goes on record with the board, and the supervisor assumes professional, ethical, and legal responsibility for the candidate's services.

Sessions may be on site where services are delivered, at a mutually convenient and ethically appropriate site, or using a virtual HIPAA compliant platform.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

Treatment scope starts supervised, and private-practice hours need a W-2

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18-b, II-III; RSA 330-A:18-c, III; Mhp 304.02(d)

Two of the licenses carry treatment scope.

The LSW's statutory scope covers clinical evaluation, treatment planning and case management referrals, counseling including crisis prevention and intervention, and preliminary mental health disorder diagnoses for further assessment and confirmation by an appropriate professional.

For the first 2 years of licensure that work is supervised and countersigned; what applies to an LSW after those 2 years is not stated in the statutes read.

The LSWA holds the same list of services but only under clinical supervision for as long as the license is held.

For LICSW hours, the setting rules bite: no hours before the degree was conferred, never your own independent private practice, and, for supervised experience in a private practice, a W-2 relationship with the site.

A 1099 independent contractor relationship does not meet the requirement, so an associate weighing a contract role at a private practice should check how they will be paid before signing, because those hours would not count.

β€œIf the supervised professional experience was in a private practice, then the supervisee shall have a W-2 relationship with the site.”

Licensed in another state: an endorsement process with an unread standard

πŸ“œ Mhp 302.06

The application rules do include a track for those licensed in another state: applicants who meet the substantially similar qualifications for licensure by endorsement as required by Plc 313.37 apply for initial licensure through the standard process.

The rule that would give those words content, Plc 313.37, was not among the sources read, so what substantially similar means for an LICSW applicant, which exam transfers, and whether supervised hours carry over are not stated in the sources read.

Ask the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification what Plc 313.37 requires before assuming credit for your exam or hours.

The compact below is the future multistate route, and it is not issuing licenses yet.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œApplicants who meet the substantially similar qualifications for licensure by endorsement as required by Plc 313.37 shall apply for initial licensure pursuant to Mhp 302.05.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted July 1, 2024, not yet issuing

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18-e (Source 2024, 121:1, eff. July 1, 2024); Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

New Hampshire enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact: RSA 330-A:18-e adopts its provisions, effective July 1, 2024, and the commission's jurisdiction list includes New Hampshire as of September 2026.

Enactment is not the same as mobility.

The commission has reached activation status, but it is not yet issuing multistate licenses, and it estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than naming a launch date.

Until multistate licenses begin, practicing in New Hampshire still takes a New Hampshire license by the routes above.

Check both the commission's list and the OPLC before relying on either status.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

β€œThe state of New Hampshire hereby adopts the provisions of the Social Work Licensure Compact as follows:”

Renewal: 40 CE hours for the LICSW, plus 40 collaboration hours

πŸ“œ Mhp 402.01; Mhp 402.02; Mhp 403.01

The CE cycle runs every 2 years.

Mhp 402.01, which covers the LICSW alongside the chapter's other independent practitioners, requires 40 hours of approved continuing education: at least 30 from Category A, at least 6 in ethics, at least 3 in suicide prevention, and no more than 10 from Category B.

A board-approved supervisor adds at least 6 Category A hours in clinical supervision.

The LSW completes 30 hours every 2 years, including at least 3 in ethics and 3 in suicide prevention; the LSWA completes 10 hours, with the same 3-and-3.

On top of CE, every licensee completes 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years: small group meetings among licensed practitioners, supervision or consultation with another licensed practitioner, study groups, and consultation with recognized experts, documented by the licensee.

Renewal itself follows the Plc 308 process the rules cite; the sources read do not restate its deadlines, so confirm your expiration date with the OPLC.

β€œEach licensee shall complete 40 hours of approved continuing education (CE) every 2 years.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18; RSA 330-A:18-c; RSA 330-A:18-d; Mhp 302.03; Mhp 304; Mhp 307; Mhp 402; Mhp 403 (source notes)

The window's changes cluster at both ends.

In statute: RSA 330-A:18, the LICSW qualifications including the MLADC substitution, was amended effective July 1, 2024 and again September 13, 2025.

RSA 330-A:18-c, the LSWA statute, was amended effective July 13, 2025.

RSA 330-A:18-d, the conditional licenses, was amended effective October 3, 2023, July 1, 2024 and September 13, 2025.

The compact statute took effect July 1, 2024.

In rule: Document #13786, effective December 19, 2023, adopted the Mhp 302.03 Supervisor Requirement.

The current Mhp 304.01-.03 carry a source note of Document #14464, effective February 17, 2026 and expiring February 17, 2036.

Mhp 307, the LSW rules, carry Document #13903, effective May 14, 2024.

The CE and collaboration rules carry Document #14273, effective August 19, 2025.

The saved texts are the current wording; the source notes give dates, not what each amendment changed.

The candidate agreement and the conditional license

πŸ“œ RSA 330-A:18-d; RSA 330-A:22

Supervised practice runs in two legal shells.

The first is the candidate for licensure: candidate and supervisor file a supervision agreement with the board, which approves it and holds the supervisor responsible for the candidate's services (RSA 330-A:22).

The statute then adds conditional licenses for the LICSW, school social worker, LSW and LSWA routes: the degree their route requires (a CSWE master's or doctorate for the LICSW and school social worker, a CSWE bachelor's for the LSW, the listed associate's or bachelor's fields for the LSWA), plus, on the LSWA route, 300 hours of education and 300 supervised practical training hours, a board approved supervisory agreement with documented intent to pursue licensure, and, on the school social worker route, intent to pursue licensure as a clinical social worker (RSA 330-A:18-d, I(b)(2)) β€” a bridge toward clinical licensure, not the school social worker license.

Upon approval the OPLC issues the conditional license, the holder is subject to board jurisdiction, and the license is valid for no more than 2 years with a one-time renewal for applicants in good standing.

β€œConditional licenses issued under this section shall be valid for a period not to exceed 2 years from the date of issuance. Applicants in good standing with the board may apply for a one-time renewal of a conditional license.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the New Hampshire statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice, administered by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in New Hampshire, MFT licensure in New Hampshire, or what therapists earn in New Hampshire.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice, administered by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in New Hampshire that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I count supervised hours I earned before my MSW was conferred?

No. Mhp 304.02(d)(4) says supervised experience shall not include any hours accumulated prior to the conferral of the clinical graduate degree.

The 3,000-hour clock starts after conferral, under a board-approved supervision agreement on file with the board.

Field-placement hours do not move over.

Confirm your degree conferral date and the approved agreement with the OPLC before you start counting.

Does LICSW supervision in New Hampshire have to be in person?

No. Mhp 304.02(d)(3) allows supervision on site where you deliver services, at a mutually convenient and ethically appropriate site, or using a virtual HIPAA compliant platform.

It must still be individual face-to-face supervision, at least one hour per week toward the 100-hour total, from a supervisor responsible for your clinical development.

Write the delivery format into the supervision agreement you file with the board.

How long does the New Hampshire LICSW take after graduation?

Plan on at least 2 years and no more than 4.

Each of the 2 years of supervised experience needs at least 1,500 hours within 12 to 24 months for the 3,000-hour total, and the rule requires supervision to be completed between 2 and 4 years from the date approved supervision began.

You may sit for the ASWB clinical level exam after 18 months of board approved supervision, so sequence the exam inside the supervision window.

I hold an MLADC. Can my alcohol and drug counseling experience count toward the LICSW?

Yes, up to a point.

RSA 330-A:18, III lets a current master licensed alcohol and drug counselor substitute their experience for up to 1,500 hours of the 3,000 required, and Mhp 304.02(b) permits substituting up to 50% of the face-to-face supervision hours.

The board shall not deny the substitution solely because your clinical supervisor held an MLADC license.

Confirm the substitution with the board before you rely on it.

I am licensed in another state. Is there endorsement into New Hampshire?

There is an endorsement track: Mhp 302.06 routes applicants who meet the substantially similar qualifications for licensure by endorsement required by Plc 313.37 into the standard initial-licensure process.

Plc 313.37 itself was not among the sources read, so its requirements are not stated here.

Ask the OPLC what it requires.

The Social Work Licensure Compact is enacted but, as of September 2026, not yet issuing multistate licenses.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in New Hampshire
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More New Hampshire & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice, administered by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC).