New Hampshire licenses marriage and family therapists through the Board of Mental Health Practice.
Graduates count hours as a candidate for licensure under a board-approved supervision agreement, sometimes holding a conditional licence for up to 2 years first.
Licensure requires at least 2 years post-master's and 3,000 hours of supervised practice, including 1,000 face-to-face client-contact hours and 200 hours of face-to-face supervision.
Exams are the AMFTRB national examination and an open-book jurisprudence exam.
Renewal is biennial, with 40 continuing-education hours and 40 collaboration hours.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Marriage and family therapist licence (LMFT), issued under RSA 330-A:21.
A conditional licence for a marriage and family therapist, valid up to 2 years with a one-time renewal (RSA 330-A:21, IVβV).
Beneath it, a graduate practises as a candidate for licensure under a board-approved supervision agreement β a status, not a credential.
Board of Mental Health Practice, within the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) β a combined board whose statutory seats include one licensed marriage and family therapist (RSA 330-A:3).
A master's or doctorate in marriage and family therapy from a COAMFTE-accredited program, a concentration degree in MFT from a regionally accredited institution, clinical membership in AAMFT, or (Mhp 306.01) a mental-health degree plus a COAMFTE-accredited post-graduate training program; concentration degrees owe a 300-hour practicum, at least half with couples and families.
A minimum of 2 years post-master's in a mental health counseling setting and 3,000 hours of supervised practice, each year at least 1,500 hours completed within 12β24 consecutive months, including 1,000 hours of face-to-face clinical client contact with individuals, couples and families, plus 200 hours of face-to-face supervision (RSA 330-A:21, III; Mhp 306.02).
The AMFTRB national proctored examination (RSA 330-A:21, II) and a jurisprudence examination on RSA 330-A and rules Mhp 100 through Mhp 500, open book, passed at 75 percent (Mhp 311.01).
Applicants who meet the substantially similar qualifications required by Plc 313.37 apply under Mhp 302.06 (implementing RSA 310:17); the Plc 313.37 conditions are not stated in the sources read.
There is no MFT interstate compact as of September 2026.
Biennial renewal with 40 hours of approved continuing education every 2 years β at least 30 from Category A, at least 6 in ethics, at least 3 in suicide prevention; board approved supervisors add at least 6 in clinical supervision (Mhp 402.01).
Licensees also document 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years (Mhp 403.01).
A status, not a credential: Mhp 301.01(b) defines a candidate as a person not licensed as a mental health practitioner who is receiving post-graduate supervision in New Hampshire to meet the licensing requirements, and under Mhp 302.01(h) no supervised-practice hour is credited unless the board-approved supervision agreement is effective.
A licence, not a registration: RSA 330-A:21, IV issues it once the board approves a supervisory agreement with documented intent to pursue licensure, it is valid up to 2 years from issuance, and an applicant in good standing may renew it one time (RSA 330-A:21, V; Mhp 309.03).
The licence RSA 330-A:21 requires for independent practice; supervisor status is not a separate credential but a set of qualifications β AAMFT approved supervisor, AAMFT approved alternate supervisor, or the board's own supervisor rules for the candidate stage (Mhp 302.03; Mhp 306.02(e), (l)).
New Hampshire issues one licence, and the rule is candid about the stage before it.
A graduate counting hours is a candidate for licensure β the rules define that as a person not licensed as a mental health practitioner who is receiving post-graduate supervision β and under Mhp 302.01(h) no supervised-practice hour is credited until the supervision agreement is approved by OPLC, so the supervisor choice comes before the first hour.
Layered onto that agreement is the conditional licence, which the statute treats as a licence with a term: it issues when the board approves a supervisory agreement with documented intent to pursue licensure, it runs no more than 2 years, and applicants in good standing may renew it one time.
The full licence is the only rung that allows independent practice β no candidate shall engage in independent or private mental health practice.
For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.
βConditional licenses issued under this section shall be valid for a period not to exceed 2 years from the date of issuance. Applicants in good standing with the board may apply for a one-time renewal of a conditional license.β
Four routes satisfy the degree rule, and the statute's third is the one people miss: clinical membership in the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy qualifies on its own.
The others are a master's or doctorate in marriage and family therapy from a COAMFTE-accredited program, a degree with a concentration in MFT from a regionally accredited institution, and β added by the rule β a mental-health-field degree from a regionally accredited institution plus a COAMFTE-accredited post-graduate training program.
A concentration degree carries homework: coursework across family studies, family therapy, diagnosis, human development, professional studies and research, plus a one-year practicum supervised by an AAMFT approved supervisor totalling at least 300 face-to-face client-contact hours with individuals, couples and families.
That practicum is where the relational split lives in New Hampshire's rules β the post-degree hours do not repeat a couples/families quota.
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
βAt least half of these client contact hours shall have been completed with couples and families.β
The statute sets the frame: a minimum of 2 years of post-master's experience in a mental health counseling setting, 3,000 hours of supervised practice of marriage and family therapy, and 200 hours of face-to-face supervision by a supervisor approved by AAMFT or the board.
The rule then defines the years: each year of experience is at least 1,500 hours completed within not less than 12 and not more than 24 consecutive calendar months, and supervision must include at least one hour per week of individual face-to-face supervision by a psychologist, clinical mental health counselor, independent clinical social worker, pastoral psychotherapist or marriage and family therapist licensed where the supervision takes place.
Within the 3,000, every applicant needs 1,000 hours of supervised face-to-face clinical client contact with individuals, couples and families β no separate couples/families quota applies at this stage.
Two doors let hours in early: COAMFTE graduates may count up to 100 pre-degree supervision hours and up to 500 graduate client-contact hours under Mhp 306.02(g), and doctoral students with a qualifying master's may use doctoral practicum, internship and supervision.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
βA year of experience shall not be less than 1500 hours, to have been completed within not less than 12 and not more than 24 consecutive calendar months.β
Two exams stand between a finished candidate file and the licence.
The statute requires a pass on the AMFTRB national proctored examination, and Mhp 306.03 routes the request through a board form.
Then the jurisprudence examination: Mhp 311.01 examines each initial-license applicant on the contents of RSA 330-A and administrative rules Mhp 100 through Mhp 500, it is open book but taken individually, a score of at least 75 percent passes, and a failed attempt may be retaken as many times as it takes to pass.
The application must document the jurisprudence pass under Mhp 302.05(a)(13), so schedule the exam before you file rather than after.
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
βHas passed the national proctored examination of the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards.β
The 200 supervision hours go to an AAMFT approved supervisor or an AAMFT approved alternate supervisor; an alternate needs a graduate degree in MFT or a related field, an NH licence, five graduate courses taken or taught (four clinical couples or family-therapy courses and one in ethics), 2 years of full-time post-licensure experience and the 30-hour AAMFT Approved Supervisor Training Course.
If your workplace has no AAMFT supervisor, you may contract for outside supervision under a contract filed with the supervision agreement, with at least twice-yearly worksite visits; under that contract the rule accepts individual supervision of one supervisor with up to 2 supervisees and group of up to 6 (Mhp 306.02(f)(3)) β the chapter's own definition of individual supervision stays one-on-one.
For candidates the rules add their own floor β a supervisor licensed in New Hampshire, practising there at least 2 years, with at most 8 candidates unless the supervisor files a waiver under Plc 211, and no spousal or close-family relationship.
The platform is flexible: face-to-face includes synchronous HIPAA-compliant virtual presence, so video supervision counts.
Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.
β"Face-to-face" means being in the physical presence or synchronous "Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)" compliant virtual presence of individuals involved in the supervisory relationship during either individual or group supervisionβ
The endorsement rule is a pointer, and the honest reading is that its conditions live in a document the sources read do not contain.
Mhp 302.06 sends applicants who meet the substantially similar qualifications for licensure by endorsement required by Plc 313.37 to apply for initial licensure under Mhp 302.05, implementing RSA 310:17; what Plc 313.37 actually demands β which licence, held how long, with what exam history β is not stated in the sources read, so ask OPLC before planning a move around it.
There is no MFT interstate compact as of September 2026, so endorsement is the way in, and any hours still to be earned in New Hampshire follow the same Mhp 306.02 rules through the candidate stage.
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
βApplicants who meet the substantially similar qualifications for licensure by endorsement as required by Plc 313.37 shall apply for initial licensure pursuant to Mhp 302.05.β
Renewal is biennial, and the CE rule is precise.
Each licensee completes 40 hours of approved continuing education every 2 years; at least 30 of the 40 must come from Category A, at least 6 in ethics from Category A, and at least 3 in suicide prevention from Category A β the suicide floor is statutory, RSA 330-A:10, XI.
No more than 10 of the 40 hours may come from Category B, and board approved supervisors must include at least 6 Category A hours in clinical supervision.
Alongside the CE sits a second running total many applicants discover late: each licensee completes and documents 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years β small-group meetings with licensed practitioners, supervision or consultation, study groups, expert consultation β so log those hours as you go.
βEach licensee shall complete 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years.β
The statute's MFT section carries two amendments β 2023, 224:6, effective October 3, 2023, and 2025, 161:14, effective September 13, 2025 β and chapter 161 of 2025 also repealed former RSA 330-A:23 and :24, effective September 13, 2025.
The sources read confirm the amendments without isolating what each one changed, so treat any pre-2023 summary of the MFT licence rules as needing board confirmation.
On the rule side, chapter Mhp 300 was readopted by Document #14464, effective February 17, 2026, and it is that version the application cites: Mhp 302.05 in the readopted chapter requires documentation of the jurisprudence examination, whose current rule, Mhp 311.01, carries the same 2-17-26 effective date.
The conditional-licence provisions now sit in RSA 330-A:21, paragraphs IV and V, as amended.
The setting rules decide whether hours count before the arithmetic does.
Independent private mental health practice is not supervised professional experience, and private-practice experience counts only inside a W-2 employment relationship β a 1099 independent contractor relationship with the site does not meet the requirement.
The question surfaces early, too: the candidate supervision-agreement form asks the supervisor directly whether a W-2 relationship exists.
The paperwork is equally specific, because the MFT summary-of-experience form requires, for each placement, the dates, the facility, the supervisor, total individual supervision hours, total client-contact hours and total clinical-experience hours, and the supervisor confirms them on a separate form.
Track those numbers per placement from your first day, and check any unusual employment structure with the board before it starts.
βIf the supervised professional experience was in a private practice, then the supervisee shall have a W-2 relationship with the site. A 1099 independent contractor relationship with the site shall not meet this requirement.β
This page summarizes the New Hampshire statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state MFT licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Board of Mental Health Practice, within the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) publishes.
Nor does it cover counselor licensure in New Hampshire, social work licensure in New Hampshire, or what therapists earn in New Hampshire.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the Board of Mental Health Practice, within the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the marriage and family therapist jobs in New Hampshire that asks for it.
Yes.
Mhp 301.01(c) defines face-to-face supervision as being in the physical presence or synchronous HIPAA-compliant virtual presence of the people in the supervisory relationship, for individual and group supervision alike.
Older summaries claiming New Hampshire counts only in-person supervision do not match the current rule text.
Keep the platform and meeting record with your supervision documentation, and confirm any unusual arrangement with the Board of Mental Health Practice before you rely on it.
It is a licence the statute issues to an applicant who holds a qualifying degree and a board-approved supervisory agreement documenting intent to pursue full licensure.
It is valid for no more than 2 years from issuance, and an applicant in good standing may renew it one time (RSA 330-A:21, IVβV; Mhp 309.03).
It is not the full licence: a conditional licensee still practises under supervision and counts hours toward the same 3,000.
Ask OPLC about timing if your 2 years are running short.
No. Mhp 306.02 says independent private mental health practice is not supervised professional experience, and if the experience was in a private practice the supervisee must have a W-2 relationship with the site β a 1099 independent contractor relationship does not meet the requirement.
The candidate supervision-agreement form asks the supervisor directly whether a W-2 relationship exists, so the structure of your job is reviewed at approval.
Check an offer's employment terms against the rule before you start counting.
It can.
RSA 330-A:21, III lets a current master licensed alcohol and drug counselor (MLADC) licence substitute for up to 1,500 of the 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience, and Mhp 306.02(c) permits up to 50 face-to-face supervision hours on the same route.
The statute also bars the board from denying the substitution solely because the applicant's clinical supervisor held an MLADC licence, and where substitution is denied the board must provide its rationale in writing.
Two.
First, the national proctored examination of the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards, required by RSA 330-A:21, II and requested through the board's exam form under Mhp 306.03.
Second, the jurisprudence examination under Mhp 311.01: open book, taken individually, covering RSA 330-A and administrative rules Mhp 100 through Mhp 500, with a passing score of at least 75 percent.
Your application must document the jurisprudence pass, and failed attempts may be retaken as many times as needed.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Board of Mental Health Practice, within the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC).