🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in North Carolina: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

North Carolina issues one clinical license — the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) — with an associate rung, the LCSWA, and three voluntary, non-clinical certifications (CSW, CMSW, CSWM).

Only clinical social work practice is protected by licensure.

The LCSW takes a CSWE-accredited master's or doctorate, 3,000 hours of post-MSW paid clinical employment accumulated in no less than 2 and no more than 6 years, 100 hours of supervision from an LCSW, and the ASWB Clinical exam.

The Social Work Licensure Compact took effect October 1, 2025, but no multistate licenses are being issued yet.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In North Carolina, that is the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board.

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) — required for clinical social work practice; since January 1, 1992 it has been unlawful to engage in or offer to engage in clinical social work without first being licensed (G.S.

90B-4(b)).

Other license levels

One associate license, the Licensed Clinical Social Worker Associate (LCSWA), plus three voluntary certifications for non-clinical practice: Certified Social Worker (CSW), Certified Master Social Worker (CMSW) and Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM).

Practice protection is currently limited to clinical social work.

Degree

LCSW and LCSWA: a master's or doctoral degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program.

CSW: a CSWE-accredited bachelor's in social work.

CMSW: a CSWE-accredited master's or doctorate.

Supervised experience

A minimum of 3,000 hours of post-MSW paid clinical employment, accumulated in no less than 2 years and no more than 6 years, with a minimum of 100 hours of supervision from an LCSW — at least 1 hour of supervision for every 30 hours of clinical practice (Board levels page).

The statute states it as two years of clinical social work experience with appropriate supervision (G.S.

90B-7(d)).

ASWB exam

LCSW: ASWB Clinical.

CSW: ASWB Bachelor.

CMSW: ASWB Master or the ACSW.

CSWM: ASWB Advanced Generalist.

The LCSWA requires no exam for initial issuance, but the ASWB Clinical must be passed before the LCSW is issued.

Supervisor requirement

The 100 LCSW supervision hours must come from an LCSW whom the Board's levels page describes as having an additional 2 years of clinical social work practice after the LCSW — a newly licensed LCSW does not qualify.

The LCSWA must practice under the supervision of an LCSW or a Board-approved alternate (G.S.

90B-7(f)); the alternate's qualifications were not stated in the sources read.

Social Work Compact

Enacted.

S.L.

2025-7 (HB 231) became effective October 1, 2025, and North Carolina is on the commission's list of 32 member jurisdictions (2026-09-24), but no multistate licenses are being issued yet.

Renewal & CE

Each credential is issued for no more than 2 years, with 40 clock hours of continuing education every 2 years, 4 in ethics — the same 40-and-4 for the CSW, CMSW, LCSWA, CSWM and LCSW.

The North Carolina credential ladder

  1. Certified Social Worker(CSW)Other

    A voluntary certification for non-clinical social work practice, issued on a CSWE-accredited bachelor's in social work and a Board-approved qualifying examination (the ASWB Bachelor); it is a certification, not the clinical license.

  2. Certified Master Social Worker(CMSW)Other

    A voluntary certification for non-clinical practice at the master's level, issued on a CSWE-accredited master's or doctoral degree in social work and the ASWB Master or the ACSW; it is not a license.

  3. Certified Social Work Manager(CSWM)Other

    A voluntary certification for social work managers whose qualifications the statute states one way (a CSWE bachelor's plus two years of administrative experience, G.S.

    90B-7(e)) and the Board's levels page another — confirm with the Board before applying.

  4. Licensed Clinical Social Worker Associate(LCSWA)Pre-licensure

    The associate license in clinical social work: no exam to start, issued no more than two years at a time, practice under an LCSW or a Board-approved alternate, and the license under which the LCSW hours are earned (G.S.

    90B-7(f)).

  5. Licensed Clinical Social Worker(LCSW)Independent

    The clinical license, required to engage in clinical social work since January 1, 1992; the Act defines its holder as competent to function independently, providing clinical social work services or supervising others in clinical practice (G.S.

    90B-3(6a)).

Three voluntary certifications and one clinical license: certified is not licensed

📜 NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements; G.S. 90B-4(b)

North Carolina credentials social workers in two tracks.

Three certifications — Certified Social Worker (CSW), Certified Master Social Worker (CMSW) and Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM) — are voluntary and cover non-clinical practice; the Board states that practice protection is currently limited to clinical social work, so no certification authorises therapy.

The clinical track is the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) and its associate rung, the LCSWA — the only credential required for clinical practice, which has been unlawful without a license since January 1, 1992 (G.S.

90B-4(b)); the Act defines the LCSW as competent to function independently (G.S.

90B-3(6a)).

There is no master's-level clinical license here; the nearest credentials are the voluntary CMSW and the pre-clinical LCSWA.

One discrepancy to know: the statute describes the CSWM as a CSWE bachelor's plus two years of administrative experience (G.S.

90B-7(e)), while the Board's levels page states a different, larger requirement set — confirm with the Board.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

One accreditor, CSWE, across every credential

📜 G.S. 90B-7(b)–(d); NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements page

Every credential routes through a Council on Social Work Education program: the statute accepts a program approved, accredited, or admitted to candidacy for accreditation by CSWE.

The CSW requires a bachelor's degree in social work (G.S.

90B-7(b)); the CMSW, LCSWA and LCSW require a master's or doctoral degree in social work (G.S.

90B-7(c), (f), (d)).

Foreign-educated applicants are directed by the Board's levels page to CSWE for an equivalency evaluation.

What separates the LCSW from the CMSW is not more school — the degrees are identical — but the supervised experience and the ASWB Clinical exam.

No coursework requirement beyond the degree itself appears in the sources read.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

3,000 paid clinical hours, 100 supervision hours, and a 2-to-6-year window

📜 G.S. 90B-7(d); NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements page

The statute states the experience requirement as two years of clinical social work experience with appropriate supervision in the field of specialization (G.S.

90B-7(d)); the Board operationalises it as a minimum of 3,000 hours of post-MSW paid clinical employment, accumulated in no less than 2 years and no more than 6 years.

The employment must be paid — volunteer clinical work does not fit the Board's wording.

Supervision runs at a minimum of 100 hours from an LCSW — whom the Board's levels page describes as having an additional 2 years of clinical social work practice after the LCSW — at least 1 hour of supervision for every 30 hours of clinical practice, with a maximum of 25 hours group supervision.

The associate clock is unforgiving: supervision and experience hours acquired under an associate license expire six years from initial issuance, and expired hours do not apply toward future licensure (G.S.

90B-7(f)).

Schedule the ASWB Clinical before that window closes.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“Shows to the satisfaction of the Board that he or she has had two years of clinical social work experience with appropriate supervision in the field of specialization in which the applicant will practice.”

One ASWB exam per credential, and the associate starts with none

📜 G.S. 90B-7(b)–(f); NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements page

The statute requires a Board-approved qualifying examination for every credential (G.S.

90B-7(b)-(f)), and the Board's levels page names the ASWB family: the ASWB Bachelor for the CSW, the ASWB Master or the ACSW for the CMSW, the ASWB Clinical for the LCSW, and the ASWB Advanced Generalist for the CSWM.

The LCSWA is the exception — no examination is required for initial issuance.

The Board grants exam eligibility once two years of clinical practice are documented, and the ASWB Clinical must be passed before the LCSW is issued.

The six-year rule has teeth: an associate licensee who fails to finish in time may apply for a new associate license, but the Board will not issue one until the qualifying examination has been passed (G.S.

90B-7(f)).

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

Choosing a supervisor: an LCSW, a Board-approved alternate, and a technology form

📜 G.S. 90B-7(f); G.S. 90B-3(9); NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements page

The 100 supervision hours for the LCSW must come from an LCSW, and the Board's levels page adds a seniority condition the statute does not state: the supervisor is described as having an additional 2 years of clinical social work practice after the LCSW, so a newly licensed LCSW would not qualify — verify a prospective supervisor's standing before signing a supervision agreement.

The associate license is more flexible: G.S.

90B-7(f) requires practice under the supervision of a licensed clinical social worker or a Board-approved alternate, and the alternate's qualifications were not stated in the sources read — ask the Board before relying on one.

The Act defines supervision as a professional relationship in which the supervisor provides guidance, oversight, direction, and evaluation of the supervisee's services (G.S.

90B-3(9)).

Technology-delivered supervision is gated: the Board posts a Request for Supervision via Technology form (dated May 9, 2023), and technology-based supervision requires a Board request, though the form's terms were not stated in the sources read.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

“The associate license may not be issued for a period exceeding two years and the person issued the associate license must practice under the supervision of a licensed clinical social worker or a Board-approved alternate.”

Only clinical social work is protected — and here is what clinical means

📜 G.S. 90B-3(6), (6a); G.S. 90B-4(b), (c)

Licensure gates one thing: clinical social work practice.

Non-clinical social work is not gated by this Board — the certifications are voluntary, and the Act preserves the right of uncertified social workers to practice social work except in clinical practice (G.S.

90B-4(c)).

Clinical social work practice is the professional application of social work theory and methods to the biopsychosocial diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of emotional and mental disorders; it explicitly includes psychotherapy, and just as explicitly excludes the provision of supportive daily living services to persons with severe and persistent mental illness as defined in G.S.

122C-3(33a).

The LCSW is competent to function independently and may provide clinical services or supervise others in clinical practice; the LCSWA is issued an associate license to provide clinical social work services under supervision (G.S.

90B-3(6a), (6b)).

Since January 1, 1992, engaging in or offering to engage in clinical social work without a license has been unlawful (G.S.

90B-4(b)).

“Practice includes, by whatever means of communications, the treatment of individuals, couples, families, and groups, including the use of psychotherapy and referrals to and collaboration with other health professionals when appropriate.”

Moving to North Carolina: reciprocity is assessed, not automatic

📜 G.S. 90B-8(a)–(c); NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements page

The Board does not automatically grant licensure by reciprocity; substantial equivalency is assessed through the application.

G.S.

90B-8(a) allows a reciprocal certificate or license to an applicant certified, registered or licensed in good standing by a similar board of another country, state, or territory whose standards are substantially equivalent, and who passed an equivalent examination for that level — the Board's levels page adds that the out-of-state credential must have been earned by examination.

Two temporary routes exist: a temporary license for a nonresident clinical social worker from a substantially equivalent jurisdiction (G.S.

90B-8(b)), and a temporary license for military and military-spouse applicants under G.S.

93B-15.1 (G.S.

90B-8(c)).

Without one of those, an out-of-state clinical social worker may render professional clinical social work services in North Carolina for not more than five days in any calendar year.

The compact will add a multistate route, but no multistate licenses are being issued yet.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

“The Board may grant a reciprocal certificate or license without examination or by special examination to any person who, at the time of application, is certified, registered or licensed in good standing as a social worker by a similar board of another country, state, or territory whose certification, registration or licensing standards are substantially equivalent to those required by this Chapter.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted 2025, not yet issuing

📜 S.L. 2025-7 (HB 231); G.S. 90B-20 to -35

North Carolina enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact through S.L.

2025-7 (HB 231), creating Article 2 of Chapter 90B (G.S.

90B-20 to -35); the act was ratified June 12, 2025, approved June 13, 2025, and became effective October 1, 2025.

The state is on the commission's list of 32 member jurisdictions as of 2026-09-24, but enacted is not operational: no multistate licenses are being issued anywhere yet, and the commission estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027.

The compact defines a regulated social worker as any clinical, master's, or bachelor's social worker licensed by a member state regardless of the title used by that member state (G.S.

90B-21(20)).

North Carolina licenses only the clinical tier, and which credential categories the Board will designate for multistate licenses under G.S.

90B-22(c) was not stated in the sources read — track the Board and the commission.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

“This act becomes effective October 1, 2025.”

Biennial renewal: 40 hours, 4 in ethics, every credential

📜 G.S. 90B-9; NCSWCLB, Levels and Eligibility Requirements page

Each credential is issued for no more than 2 years, and renewal takes a completed application, the renewal fee, and evidence of the continuing education the Board requires (G.S.

90B-9(b)).

The Board's levels page sets the same standard at every level: documentation of 40 clock hours of continuing education every 2 years, 4 of them in ethics, for the CSW, CMSW, LCSWA, CSWM and LCSW alike.

Miss the window by more than 60 days and the credential is suspended automatically; reinstatement requires verification of compliance, a reinstatement fee, and possibly new supervisory reports or references (G.S.

90B-9(c)).

Clinicians stepping back can request nonpracticing status, which suspends renewal fees and CE requirements but bars referring to oneself as certified or licensed (G.S.

90B-9.1).

“A certificate or license issued under this Chapter shall be automatically suspended for failure to renew for a period of more than 60 days after the renewal date.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

📜 S.L. 2025-7 (HB 231); G.S. 90B-20 to -35

The significant change is the compact: S.L.

2025-7 (HB 231) created Article 2 of Chapter 90B and became effective October 1, 2025, and Section 1 of the same act amends provisions across Article 1 — the saved chapter text shows current wording, not a before-and-after.

The Board's Request for Supervision via Technology form is dated May 9, 2023; its terms were not stated in the sources read.

As of the commission's September 24, 2026 jurisdiction list, no multistate licenses are being issued.

No other change to the LCSW's core requirements — degree, 3,000 hours, 100 supervision hours, ASWB Clinical — appears in the sources read.

Who may use the title “Social Worker” without a Board credential

📜 G.S. 90B-4(c); G.S. 90B-10(c); G.S. 90B-16

Title protection is broad: an individual who is not certified, licensed, or associate licensed under the Chapter, and who lacks a CSWE-accredited bachelor's or master's in social work or a social work doctorate, may not use the title Social Worker or any variation of it (G.S.

90B-16(a)).

Two carve-outs matter in practice.

Government employees whose Social Worker title derives from the Office of State Human Resources classification may use it notwithstanding the Chapter (G.S.

90B-10(c)), and school social workers certified by the State Board of Education practice under the title Certified School Social Worker (G.S.

90B-4(c)).

Also in G.S.

90B-4(c): except as provided for licensed clinical social workers, public agencies and firms receiving State funds may not require a Board certificate or examination as a condition of employment.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the North Carolina statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in North Carolina, MFT licensure in North Carolina, or what therapists earn in North Carolina.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in North Carolina that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long do I have to finish my LCSW hours on the North Carolina LCSWA?

Six years from the date of initial associate license issuance, completed within three renewal cycles.

The associate license itself may not be issued for a period exceeding two years at a time, so expect renewals along the way.

Supervision and experience hours acquired under an associate license expire at six years, and expired hours do not apply toward future licensure.

If you do not finish in time, you may apply for a new associate license — but the Board will not issue one until you have passed the qualifying examination.

Is the CSW or CMSW certification enough to practice therapy in North Carolina?

No. Practice protection in North Carolina is currently limited to clinical social work practice, and since January 1, 1992 it has been unlawful to engage in or offer to engage in clinical social work without first being licensed as a clinical social worker (G.S.

90B-4(b)).

The CSW and CMSW are voluntary, non-clinical certifications.

To provide clinical services — including psychotherapy — you need the LCSW, or the LCSWA while you complete your supervised experience under supervision.

Do I need to pass an exam before I can start counting LCSW hours on the associate license?

No. The LCSWA requires no examination for initial issuance — the degree is the gate.

You document your supervision and practice to the Board every 6 months, as the regulation requires, while you accumulate the post-MSW paid clinical employment.

The Board can grant ASWB Clinical exam eligibility once two years of clinical practice are documented.

The ASWB Clinical must be passed before the LCSW is issued.

Watch the six-year window: hours acquired under the associate license expire then, so plan the exam inside it.

I hold an LCSW in another state. Can I get licensed in North Carolina without retaking everything?

Possibly, through reciprocity — which the Board assesses through the application rather than granting automatically.

You need to be licensed in good standing by a similar board whose standards are substantially equivalent, and to have passed an equivalent examination for that level; the Board's levels page states the out-of-state credential must have been earned by examination.

Two temporary licenses exist — one for nonresident clinical social workers, one for military and military-spouse applicants.

Without one, you may practice in North Carolina no more than five days per calendar year until licensed.

Can my LCSW supervision hours come from a supervisor who is not an LCSW?

For the LCSW, no — and a newly licensed LCSW does not qualify either.

The Board's levels page describes the required supervisor as an LCSW with an additional 2 years of clinical social work practice after the LCSW, and requires a minimum of 100 hours of supervision, at least 1 hour of supervision for every 30 hours of clinical practice, with at most 25 hours group supervision.

Only the associate license admits an alternative: practice under the supervision of an LCSW or a Board-approved alternate, whose qualifications were not stated in the sources read.

Technology-delivered supervision also requires a Board request via the Board's form.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in North Carolina
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More North Carolina & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board.