🧭 MFT licensure

LMFT Licensure in Massachusetts: Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Massachusetts licenses marriage and family therapists through the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions, and it issues one license, the Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, with no associate tier.

You need a qualifying master's or doctoral degree, two years full-time or the 3,360-hour part-time equivalent of post-master's supervised experience including 1,000 face-to-face client-contact hours (500 with couples and families) and 200 supervision hours, plus a passing score on the licensure examination.

Renewal comes every two years with 30 CE hours.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Massachusetts, that is the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions.

At a glance

Independent title

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT), the one license 262 CMR 3.00 issues for the profession.

Pre-licensure title

None found.

262 CMR 3.00 sets out a single license with no associate or provisional MFT tier.

Regulator

Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions, a combined board for LMHC, LMFT, rehabilitation counselors, educational psychologists and ABA.

Degree

A master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or a related field from a recognized educational institution; at least 60 semester hours for degrees completed after July 1, 1999 (45 before), eleven required courses, and a practicum with at least 300 direct face-to-face client-contact hours.

Post-degree experience

Two years full-time, or equivalent part-time (3,360 hours), of post-master's supervised clinical experience including at least 1,000 face-to-face client-contact hours, 500 of them with couples and families, plus 200 hours of supervision, 100 individual; private practice settings are not acceptable.

Exams

Achievement of a passing score on the licensure examination (262 CMR 3.03(4)) β€” 3.02 defines it as the "Examination in Marital and Family Therapy" developed by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (the saved rule text prints "Martial"), administered by the Board or its agent.

Alternate route 3.03(1): an AAMFT Clinical Member in good standing who has passed the national exam.

Endorsement

262 CMR 3.04: the board issues a license without examination to an applicant licensed in a comparable field in another state whose requirements it finds equivalent to or exceeding the Commonwealth's.

Renewal & CE

Every two years: at least 30 contact hours of continuing education from Board-recognized entities, plus one-time domestic violence and sexual violence training under M.G.L. c.

112, Β§264.

The Massachusetts credential ladder

  1. Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist(LMFT)Independent

    The single license 262 CMR 3.00 issues for marriage and family therapy; the rules read set out no associate or provisional MFT tier, so a graduate earns post-master's hours on the strength of the 262 CMR 3.03 education, experience and supervision rules themselves and claims them on the LMFT application rather than under a pre-licensure credential.

One license, and what that means while you count hours

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.00; 3.02

For a new graduate the practical consequence of the single license is timing: there is no registration to hold while the post-master's hours accrue, so the education, experience, supervision and exam requirements of 262 CMR 3.03 are all proved at once when the LMFT application goes in.

Nothing on the pre-licensure side needs board paperwork β€” but nothing protects or tracks you there either, which makes your own documentation of settings, supervisors and hours the record the application will stand on.

The board itself is combined: it is the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions, covering LMHC, LMFT, rehabilitation counselors, educational psychologists and ABA, so the MFT rules live in one chapter of a larger allied mental health scheme.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œ262 CMR 3.00 sets out a single license with no associate or provisional MFT tier.”

A 60-hour degree, eleven required courses, a 300-hour practicum

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.03(2)(a), (2)(b); 3.02

The degree is a master's or doctorate in marriage and family therapy or a related field β€” 3.02 names psychology, social work, counselor education, counseling psychology, theology, law, medicine, nursing, community mental health, and education with a counseling or psychology concentration β€” from a recognized educational institution.

Programs completed after July 1, 1999 must run at least 60 semester hours (45 before that date), and a shorter degree can be topped up with graduate courses outside the program in the required content areas, submitted to the board for review.

The content list is concrete: three graduate courses each in marital and family studies, marital and family therapy, and human development (one must be in psychopathology or its equivalent), one in professional studies and one in research β€” eleven courses β€” plus a clinical internship or practicum.

The practicum needs at least 300 hours of direct face-to-face client contact under an approved supervisor, and 3.02 attaches its own supervision to it: 100 face-to-face supervision hours, 50 of them individual, and 25 of those on direct observation or audio- or videotape.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

β€œA master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or related field from a recognized educational institution.”

Two years or 3,360 hours, split into 1,000 face-to-face, 500 relational, 200 supervision

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.03(3); 3.02

The experience rule asks for a minimum of two years full-time, or equivalent part-time (3,360 hours), of post-master's supervised clinical experience with individuals, family groups, couples, groups or organizations for assessment and intervention.

Full-time is defined at 3.02 as 35 hours a week over 48 weeks a year, including at least ten clinical hours a week β€” that is where the 3,360 figure comes from.

Inside the experience the rule keeps three counts separate: at least 1,000 post-master's face-to-face client-contact hours, of which at least 500 must be face-to-face clinical work with couples and families under an approved supervisor, and 200 hours of supervision, of which 100 must be individual.

The supervision hours are stated as their own requirement alongside the contact-hour minimums, so track them in their own column from your first week, and never round the 3,360 down because a slow month put you behind.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œPrivate practice settings are not considered acceptable settings for this post-masters supervised clinical experience.”

A passing score on the licensure examination β€” and the AAMFT alternate route

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.03(4); 3.02; 3.03(1)

The fourth requirement is short: achievement of a passing score on the licensure examination.

The rules do name it: 3.02 defines the licensure examination as the "Examination in Marital and Family Therapy" developed by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards β€” the saved rule text prints "Martial", an evident misprint β€” and states the examination is administered by the Board or its agent; the rule itself sends you to the Board for sites, dates and fees.

3.03(1) is a separate door: a candidate who is currently a Clinical Member in good standing of the AAMFT and has achieved a passing score on the national licensing examination, or its equivalent, qualifies under that category.

Everything else on this page describes the 3.03(2) route graduates take; the exam rides on top of the education, experience and supervision requirements, and all four are proved in one application.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œThe examination for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall be the "Examination in Marital and Family Therapy" developed by the Association of Martial and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards. The licensure examination is administered by the Board or its agent.”

Who can be your approved supervisor, and what a supervision hour is

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.02

Every supervision hour needs an Approved Supervisor as 3.02 defines it: either an AAMFT-designated Approved Supervisor, or a licensed marriage and family therapist, rehabilitation counselor, educational psychologist, mental health counselor, psychologist or psychiatrist with a qualifying degree who carried primary supervisory responsibility for two practitioners providing marriage and family therapy for two years or the equivalent, or holds a teaching or supervisory position in a recognized educational institution, institute or agency that trains marriage and family therapists, provides clinical services to individuals, couples and families on a regular basis, or offers graduate degrees in marriage and family therapy or a related field.

The shape of the hour is defined too: individual supervision is a scheduled meeting of no more than two practitioners with the supervisor for at least one hour; group supervision caps at six practitioners and runs at least an hour and a half; and peer supervision does not qualify.

The rules read say nothing about supervision by video or phone β€” not stated in the sources read β€” so clear any remote arrangement with the board first.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œA regularly scheduled meeting of marriage and family therapy supervision of not more than two practitioners with an approved supervisor for a period of at least one hour.”

What the license covers once you hold it

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.02

3.02 defines marriage and family therapy as the rendering of professional mental health services to individuals, family groups, couples, groups or organizations, public or private, for compensation β€” applying principles, methods and therapeutic techniques to resolve emotional conflict, modify perceptions and behavior, enhance communication and understanding among family members and prevent family and individual crises.

The same definition adds that marriage and family therapists may also engage in psychotherapy of a non-medical nature, with appropriate referrals to psychiatric resources and other mental health professionals and organizations.

Because the rules set out one license and no junior tier, this scope arrives whole at licensure rather than in stages β€” there is no intermediate credential whose holder practices a reduced version of it.

β€œThe rendering of professional mental health services to individuals, family groups, couples, groups or organizations (public or private) for compensation, monetary or otherwise.”

Licensed elsewhere? The 3.04 equivalence comparison

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.04

A clinician already licensed in another state applies under 3.04, and the test is comparative: the board decides whether the requirements of the applicant's home-state license are equivalent to or exceed the Commonwealth's.

If they are, the license issues without examination, so an applicant who sat a comparable licensing examination for that license is not asked to sit another.

Keep the records your original licensure rested on β€” degree, supervised hours, supervisors β€” because they are the evidence the comparison runs on.

Massachusetts is not part of any MFT compact, so portability runs through applications like this one, decided file by file, not through a multistate license.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œThe Board shall issue a license without examination to an applicant licensed as a professional in a comparable field in another state whose requirements for the license are determined by the Board to be equivalent to or exceed the requirements of the Commonwealth.”

Renew every two years: 30 contact hours plus the one-time violence training

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 7.03(1), (2); M.G.L. c. 112, Β§264

The licensure and renewal period is two years, and each renewal takes a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education from Board-recognized entities.

On top of the hours, 7.03(2) requires domestic violence and sexual violence training under M.G.L. c.

112, Β§264 as a condition of licensure, renewal, revival or reinstatement; a licensee who has already completed a board-approved program need not repeat it unless the board, in its discretion, requires it again.

Falling short of the 262 CMR 7.00 CE rules is grounds for disciplinary action and may result in non-renewal of the license.

The section was last amended effective June 5, 2015 (Mass Register Issue 1288), and the sections read record no 2023–2026 amendment, but confirm current renewal terms with the board before you file.

β€œAll licensees are required, as a condition of license renewal, to complete a minimum of 30 Contact Hours of continuing education activities per licensure/renewal period (every two years).”

Where the hours can be earned: the setting rule

πŸ“œ 262 CMR 3.03(3); 3.02

The setting rule is the requirement most likely to shape a job search.

3.03(3) counts the post-master's supervised clinical experience in a clinic or hospital licensed by the Department of Mental Health and accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care Organizations, in an equivalent center or institute, or under the direction of an approved supervisor β€” and it excludes private practice settings outright.

A graduate choosing between an agency job and a private-practice job is really choosing which hours will count: in the rule's terms, hours earned in a private practice do not bank toward the LMFT experience requirement.

Equivalent center or institute is the board's judgment, so ask the board about an employer whose setting is ambiguous before you start the clock.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Massachusetts statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state MFT licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Massachusetts, social work licensure in Massachusetts, or what therapists earn in Massachusetts.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the marriage and family therapist jobs in Massachusetts that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Massachusetts have an associate MFT license?

No. 262 CMR 3.00 sets out a single license, and the rules read found no associate or provisional MFT tier.

A graduate accrues the post-master's supervised experience of 262 CMR 3.03(3) and applies for the LMFT itself.

Because there is no pre-licensure credential to hold, ask the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions how your employment should be structured while you count hours.

Can I count post-master's hours earned in a private practice toward the Massachusetts LMFT?

No. 262 CMR 3.03(3) counts the experience in a clinic or hospital licensed by the Department of Mental Health and accredited by the Joint Commission, in an equivalent center or institute, or under the direction of an approved supervisor, and states that private practice settings are not acceptable.

If an employer's setting is ambiguous, ask the board before you start counting the hours.

Which examination do I take for the Massachusetts LMFT?

The rules name it: 262 CMR 3.03(4) requires a passing score on the licensure examination, and 3.02 defines that as the "Examination in Marital and Family Therapy" developed by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (the saved rule text prints "Martial"), administered by the Board or its agent.

The alternate 3.03(1) route asks an AAMFT Clinical Member for a pass on the national licensing examination instead.

Contact the board for current sites, dates and fees.

Can LMFT supervision in Massachusetts happen by video?

Not stated in the sources read.

The sections of 262 CMR read for this page say nothing about supervision by video or phone, so clear any remote arrangement with the board before you rely on it.

The rules do define the formats they recognize: individual supervision is a scheduled meeting of no more than two practitioners with an approved supervisor for at least an hour, group supervision is capped at six practitioners and runs at least an hour and a half, and peer supervision does not qualify.

How often does the Massachusetts LMFT renew, and what CE does it take?

Every two years.

Each renewal takes at least 30 contact hours of continuing education from Board-recognized entities, plus the one-time domestic violence and sexual violence training under M.G.L. c.

112, Β§264 unless the board requires it again.

262 CMR 7.03 was last amended effective June 5, 2015, and the sections read record no later change, but confirm current renewal requirements with the board before you file.

Find Marriage and Family Therapist Jobs in Massachusetts
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Massachusetts & Marriage and Family Therapist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions.