🧭 MFT licensure

LMFT Licensure in Tennessee: Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Tennessee licenses marital and family therapists through the combined Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists.

New graduates apply for the associate licensed marriage and family therapist (AMFT) license and practice under an approved supervisor before qualifying as a licensed marital and family therapist (LMFT).

The rule's numbers are 1,000 hours of clinical practice plus 200 hours of supervision over at least two years, with at least 10 clinical hours each week.

A 2024 statute directs the board to license without examination a therapist who is licensed to practice independently in another state.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Tennessee, that is the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists.

At a glance

Independent title

Licensed Marital and Family Therapist (LMFT).

The statute and the rule both use marital, not marriage, in the title.

Pre-licensure title

Associate licensed marriage and family therapist (AMFT) under Tenn.

Code Β§ 63-22-121(b) (2025 ch. 204) β€” valid up to four years, extendable at the board's discretion.

The older rule's temporary license (marital therapy intern / family therapy trainee, up to three years) predates it.

Regulator

Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists β€” a combined board supported by the Department of Health's Division of Health Related Boards.

Degree

Statute: board standards no less stringent than AAMFT clinical-member standards, with a minimum of a master's level degree (Β§ 63-22-106(3)).

Rule: a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or equivalent from a SACS-accredited or comparable institution; related-field degrees need the rule's course list plus a practicum or internship of no less than 300 hours (0450-02-.04(1)(c)).

Post-degree experience

Rule: two years of post-masters clinical experience at not less than 10 hours per week, documented as 1,000 hours of clinical practice and 200 hours of supervision by an approved supervisor over not less than two years; actively engaged means 10 or more face-to-face client contact hours per week.

No couples-and-families hour figure appears in the sources read.

Exams

Rule: the AMFTRB (Professional Examination Service) written examination plus an oral examination passed at seventy-five percent on Tennessee law, the board's ethics code and practice areas.

The exam rule dates to 2003, and whether the oral exam is still administered was not confirmed on the board's page.

Endorsement

The board shall license without examination an applicant licensed to practice independently in another state whose qualifications meet this part (Tenn.

Code Β§ 63-22-103(a), as amended by 2024 ch. 700).

There is no MFT interstate compact as of September 2026.

Renewal & CE

Biennial renewal due the last day of your birth month; 10 clock hours of continuing education each calendar year, 3 hours of ethics or jurisprudence every two years, and a suicide prevention program of not less than 2 hours at least once every five years.

The Tennessee credential ladder

  1. Associate licensed marriage and family therapist(AMFT)Pre-licensure

    The statute's pre-licensure license, valid up to four years with an extension at the board's discretion: it authorizes the practice of marital and family therapy under the supervision of an approved supervisor, and its holder may only use the title associate licensed marriage and family therapist or the letters AMFT.

  2. Licensed Marital and Family Therapist(LMFT)Independent

    The independent license: the rule defines a licensed marital and family therapist as a person who has met the qualifications and holds a current, unsuspended or unrevoked license lawfully issued by the board, and once licensed the new licensee provides mental health services without further supervision.

  3. Board-approved marriage and family supervisor(Approved supervisor)Supervisor

    An approval the statute defines, not a separate license: the statute's board-approved marriage and family supervisor is a person who gives the board evidence of five years of full-time experience in marriage and family therapy practice and supervision, 36 hours of supervision specifically in the skill of providing marriage and family therapy supervision, and a recommendation from a supervisor who provided supervision of the supervision.

An AMFT license by statute, a temporary license by the older rule

πŸ“œ Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-121(b); 0450-02-.05(5)

The current pre-licensure rung is statutory: under Β§ 63-22-121(b), amended by 2025 ch. 204, the board may issue an associate license to a marital and family therapist applicant who has completed the academic coursework and training required for the license sought.

You apply with a completed associate application, satisfactory evidence of an agreement with an approved supervisor under whom you intend to practice, and fees, and the license authorizes the practice of marital and family therapy under that supervisor.

It is valid for up to four years and eligible for an extension at the board's discretion, and it ceases to be valid when the board approves or denies your application for the independent license or revokes the associate license.

The older rule instead describes a temporary license β€” no more than one per person, valid no more than three years β€” for an applicant who finished the academic work but not the post-masters experience; that rule last took an amendment effective May 31, 2006, before both statutes.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œThe holder of an associate license as a marital and family therapist shall not represent such associate licensee to be a licensed marital and family therapist. The holder of such a license may only represent such associate licensee to be an β€œassociate licensed marriage and family therapist” or by the use of the letters β€œAMFT.””

A master's degree measured against AAMFT clinical-member standards

πŸ“œ Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-106(3); 0450-02-.04(1)(c)

The statute sets the education floor by reference: an applicant must satisfy board standards no less stringent than the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy's standards for a clinical member, so long as those standards specify a minimum of a master's level degree.

The rule translates that into a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or equivalent from an institution accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools or by a comparable accrediting body.

A degree in a related subject field can qualify if it contains the rule's coursework, with every course at least one semester long: three courses in human development and personality, three in marriage and family studies, three in marriage and family therapy, one in research, one in professional ethics, and one in assessment and diagnosis of cognitive, affective and behavioral problems in DSM IV T.R. (or its successor) nomenclature β€” plus a supervised practicum or internship of no less than 300 hours that includes experience in assessment, diagnosis and treatment.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

β€œMasters or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or equivalent from an institution accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools or by a comparable accrediting body.”

1,000 clinical hours and 200 supervision hours over at least two years

πŸ“œ 0450-02-.04(1)(d); 0450-02-.05(1)(k); 0450-02-.14(2)

The hour rule lives in the administrative rules, and it counts time as much as totals.

Qualification requires two years of post-masters clinical experience consisting of not less than 10 hours per week, documented at application as evidence of 1,000 hours of clinical practice and 200 hours of supervision by an approved supervisor over a period of not less than two years.

To show the practice was active, the rule defines actively engaged as 10 or more face-to-face client contact hours per week, and a client contact hour is a 50-minute period working with an individual, couple, family or group.

The rule separates practice hours from supervision hours but sets no couples-and-families quota; the research section records that no couple/family figure was found, so do not import one.

An employment offer at fewer than 10 client-contact hours a week would leave you short of the weekly floor even if your annual totals were on pace.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œAn applicant shall submit evidence of 1,000 hours of clinical practice and 200 hours of supervision by an approved supervisor over a period of not less than two years.”

A written AMFTRB exam, an oral exam β€” and a rule that predates the statutes

πŸ“œ 0450-02-.08(1)(a), (2); Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-106(4); Β§ 63-22-107(c)

The statute requires each applicant to pass such examination as may be administered by the board (Β§ 63-22-106(4); Β§ 63-22-107(c)).

The rule names two.

The written examination is the Professional Examination Service published examination or its successor, as developed by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards β€” the AMFTRB national MFT exam β€” scheduled at Prometric testing centers under the rule's process.

The rule then requires an oral examination for all applicants except those approved to upgrade from CMFT to LMFT: a two- or three-member committee appointed by the board's president scores it, a passing score is seventy-five percent, and it covers the Tennessee statute (T.C.A. Β§Β§ 63-22-101 et seq.), the board's code of ethics and other practice-related areas.

An applicant who neglects, fails or refuses either exam within twelve months of being deemed eligible has the application denied.

The exam rule was last amended effective November 18, 2003, and whether the oral exam is still administered as written was not confirmed on the board's page β€” confirm with the board before you plan around it.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œOral examinations are required for all applicants except those approved to upgrade from CMFT to LMFT.”

Who may supervise: AAMFT-approved supervisors and the group cap

πŸ“œ 0450-02-.10(1), (2), (3); Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-115(a)(2), (3)

Under the rule, your 200 supervision hours must be supervised by an AAMFT Approved Supervisor or Supervisor-In-Training whose qualifications meet AAMFT standards.

The statute defines approved supervisor more broadly: a licensed marriage and family therapist or any other licensed mental health professional who is an AAMFT-approved supervisor; a supervisor-in-training mentored by a current AAMFT-approved supervisor; or a board-approved supervisor (Β§ 63-22-115(a)(2)).

In (a)(3), board-approved supervisor means a person who gives the board evidence of five years of full-time experience in marriage and family therapy practice and supervision, 36 hours of supervision specifically in the skill of providing marriage and family therapy supervision, and a recommendation from a supervisor who provided supervision of the supervision.

Supervision may be direct β€” one or two persons' interaction with a client β€” or in a group, but no more than one half of it may be group.

Supervision by a relative, an employee, or anyone sharing your household does not count, supervision continues until the license issues, and whether it may be delivered by video is not stated in the sources read.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œUnless otherwise defined by the AAMFT, a group setting may not consist of more than six (6) supervisees.”

What the license covers β€” and the psychological-testing line

πŸ“œ Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-115(a)(5), (b), (c), (g)

Marital and family therapy in Tennessee means the diagnosis and treatment of cognitive, affective and behavioral problems and dysfunctions within the context of marital and family systems, delivered to individuals in the context of family systems theory and practice, couples and families.

The statute protects the title: a person who is not licensed or certified under the part may not advertise marital and family therapy services or use any title denoting that they are a marital and family therapist, and an unlawful act under the section is a Class B misdemeanor.

The testing boundary is specific: an LMFT may not perform psychological testing intended to measure or diagnose mental illness, but consistent with their formal education and training they may administer appropriate assessment instruments measuring cognitive, affective and behavioral problems of individuals, couples and families as part of the therapy process or a treatment plan.

β€œNothing in this section permits any person certified or licensed as a marital and family therapist to perform psychological testing intended to measure and/or diagnose mental illness.”

Moving to Tennessee: licensure without examination under 2024 ch. 700

πŸ“œ Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-103(a); 0450-02-.04(3), (4)

Public Acts 2024, ch. 700 rewrote Β§ 63-22-103: the statute directs the board to license without examination a marital and family therapist applicant who is licensed to practice independently in another state if the applicant's qualifications meet the licensure requirements under this part, and it lets the board enter reciprocal agreements with states that license marital and family therapists.

The 2006 rule's two older routes still sit on the Cornell text β€” licensure by reciprocity, which required the oral exam, and licensure by endorsement, which required current AAMFT clinical membership β€” but the statute post-dates them.

There is no MFT interstate compact as of September 2026, so this endorsement statute is a relocating licensee's route, not any multistate privilege.

Confirm with the board what documentation it expects and how it evaluates your qualifications against this part before you apply.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œThe board shall license without examination a marital and family therapist applicant who is licensed to practice independently in another state if the applicant's qualifications meet the licensure requirements under this part.”

Birth-month renewal, 10 CE hours a year, suicide prevention every five years

πŸ“œ 0450-02-.09(1)(a); 0450-02-.12(1)(a), (c), (d); Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-108(a)

Licenses renew on the Division of Health Related Boards' biennial birth-date system: the renewal due date is the last day of the month in which your birthdate falls.

Continuing education runs on the calendar year β€” 10 clock hours each year, with none required in the calendar year your license was first approved.

Within those hours, 3 clock hours must pertain to professional ethics and/or Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 63, Chapter 22 and/or the board's own chapter 0450-02, every two years.

Since January 1, 2020, the Kenneth and Madge Tullis, MD, Suicide Prevention Training Act has required a board-approved suicide prevention program of not less than 2 hours at least once every five years, and those hours count toward the 10.

A new licensee's qualifying training β€” a two-hour academic program completed within two years before application β€” only defers the suicide prevention requirement for two years after the date of initial licensure; it is not an exemption.

A license not renewed within 60 days of the renewal date is revoked without further notice.

β€œEach person registered with the board is required to complete 10 clock hours of continuing education during each calendar year.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ Tenn. Code Β§ 63-22-103 (2024, ch. 700, Β§ 1); Β§ 63-22-121 and Β§ 63-22-115 (2025, ch. 204)

Two statutes have moved Tennessee's MFT rules faster than its administrative rules.

Public Acts 2024, ch. 700 rewrote Β§ 63-22-103 into an examination-free endorsement route for independently licensed out-of-state therapists.

Public Acts 2025, ch. 204 then amended Β§ 63-22-121, whose subdivision (b) carries the associate licensed marriage and family therapist (AMFT) license, and amended the definitions in Β§ 63-22-115.

The chapter 0450-02 rules on Cornell predate both acts: their amendment histories end with the continuing-education rule effective August 12, 2019, the qualifications rule effective April 11, 2006, and the exam rule effective November 18, 2003, so a guide that quotes only the rules will miss both the AMFT license and the current endorsement.

The statutes' effective dates are not stated in the sources read; confirm current implementation with the board.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Tennessee statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state MFT licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Tennessee, social work licensure in Tennessee, or what therapists earn in Tennessee.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the marriage and family therapist jobs in Tennessee that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Tennessee still require the MFT oral exam?

The administrative rule requires a written exam (the AMFTRB/Professional Examination Service examination) and an oral examination passed at seventy-five percent, covering the statute, the board's ethics code and practice areas.

But the exam rule was last amended effective November 18, 2003, and the oral exam's current use was not confirmed on the board's page.

The statute requires only a pass on such examination as may be administered by the board.

Ask the board directly before you plan around either exam.

How many supervised hours do you need for MFT licensure in Tennessee?

The rule requires evidence of 1,000 hours of clinical practice and 200 hours of supervision by an approved supervisor over a period of not less than two years, and the experience itself must be two years of post-masters clinical practice at not less than 10 hours per week.

The rule separates practice hours from supervision hours but sets no couples-and-families quota.

Hour totals are the most commonly garbled figures, so verify them with the board before you count on any other number.

Can I transfer my LMFT license to Tennessee?

Tennessee licenses without examination a marital and family therapist applicant who is licensed to practice independently in another state if the applicant's qualifications meet the licensure requirements under this part (Tenn.

Code Β§ 63-22-103(a), as amended by 2024 ch. 700).

The board may also enter reciprocal agreements with states that license marital and family therapists.

There is no MFT interstate compact as of September 2026, so this endorsement statute is the route; ask the board what documentation it wants.

What can an associate licensed marriage and family therapist (AMFT) do in Tennessee?

The associate license authorizes the practice of marital and family therapy under the supervision of an approved supervisor.

You apply with the associate application, evidence of a supervision agreement, and fees; the license is valid for up to four years and eligible for an extension at the board's discretion, and it ends when your independent application is approved or denied or the associate license is revoked.

You may present yourself as an associate licensed marriage and family therapist or use the letters AMFT.

How do I renew a Tennessee LMFT license?

Renewal follows the Division of Health Related Boards' biennial birth-date system, due the last day of your birth month.

Each calendar year you complete 10 clock hours of continuing education, 3 of which must be ethics or jurisprudence every two years, plus a board-approved suicide prevention course of not less than 2 hours at least once every five years.

No continuing education is required in the year your license was first approved, and a license not renewed within 60 days of the renewal date is revoked without further notice.

Find Marriage and Family Therapist Jobs in Tennessee
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Tennessee & Marriage and Family Therapist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists.