🧭 Counselor licensure

Counselor Licensure in Utah: LPC Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Utah licenses clinical mental health counselors at two statutory rungs: the Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor, issued on education, conditional Medicare documentation and a background check with no exam, and the Clinical Mental Health Counselor (CMHC) β€” DOPL's exam page adds an Associate CMHC Extern classification.

The CMHC route: a 60-semester-hour graduate degree, 1,200 direct client care hours after the degree with 100 hours of direct clinical supervision, and the NCMHCE β€” or, after one failed attempt, 500 more direct hours and two recommendation letters.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Utah, that is the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Department of Commerce).

At a glance

Independent license

Clinical Mental Health Counselor (CMHC) β€” the classification Utah Code 58-60-404 names alongside an associate classification; the CMHC is the licence whose practice 58-60-402 defines.

Pre-licensure title

Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor (ACMHC) β€” a license, not a registration, issued on the education, conditional Medicare-documentation and background-check provisions of 58-60-405(2), with no examination.

DOPL's exam page adds an Associate CMHC Extern classification.

Degree

A master's or doctorate from a CACREP-accredited program in clinical mental health counseling, clinical rehabilitation counseling, or counselor education and supervision β€” or in the field from an institution with accreditation recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation β€” plus at least 60 semester credit hours or 90 quarter credit hours (58-60-405(1)(c)).

CACREP is not strictly required.

Supervised experience

Not less than 1,200 direct client care hours after the education requirements, including not less than 100 direct clinical supervision hours, not less than 25 direct observation hours and not more than 25 group supervision hours (58-60-405(1)(e)).

A 3,000-hour or two-year clinical supervision total applies only if federal Medicare rules require it (58-60-405(1)(d)).

Exams

The NCMHCE (DOPL), or the statute's alternative after one failed attempt: not less than 500 additional direct client care hours including not less than 25 direct clinical supervision hours and not less than 5 direct observation hours, plus two recommendation letters (58-60-405(1)(g)).

No exam for the associate classifications; no jurisprudence exam.

Supervisor requirement

No separate supervisor license: supervisors hold DOPL approved supervisor status, and beginning January 1, 2027 all supervisors must complete required training to maintain that status.

Counseling Compact

Enacted β€” Utah Code Title 58, Chapter 60a, Counseling Compact (current version dated 2022-05-04).

Commission status as of September 2026: member, Compact Live = No.

Renewal & CE

Renewals are due September 30 of even years (DOPL).

A first, partial cycle is pro-rated at 1.6 hours of CE for each month licensed; a total CE hours figure per cycle was not stated in the sources read.

The Utah credential ladder

  1. Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor Extern(ACMHC Extern)Pre-licensure

    A license classification on DOPL's exam information page, with no examination requirement; its qualifying conditions are not stated in the sources read.

  2. Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor(ACMHC)Pre-licensure

    A license, not a registration: the associate applicant complies with the education, conditional Medicare-documentation and background-check provisions of Utah Code 58-60-405(2), and DOPL's exam page states there is no examination requirement.

  3. Clinical Mental Health Counselor(CMHC)Independent

    The licence whose holders practise the mental health therapy defined in 58-60-402; entry is gated by the degree, the direct client care hours and the NCMHCE or the statute's exam-failure alternative.

Two classifications in statute, three on DOPL's exam page

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-404; DOPL exam information page

Utah Code 58-60-404 directs the division to issue licenses in the classification of a clinical mental health counselor or an associate clinical mental health counselor.

DOPL's exam information page counts three classifications, adding the Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor Extern, so confirm with the division how the Extern classification fits before you apply for it.

The associate rung is a license, not a registration: 58-60-405(2) requires the associate applicant to comply with the education, conditional Medicare-documentation and background-check provisions, and the exam page states there is no examination requirement.

That makes the ACMHC the entry credential a new graduate can hold straight after the degree β€” the 1,200 direct client care hours of (1)(e) sit outside the provisions 58-60-405(2) applies to the associate applicant, while (1)(d)'s conditional Medicare supervision documentation stays in for any applicant federal law reaches.

What an ACMHC may do day to day sits in DOPL's administrative rule, which was not among the sources read; confirm practice conditions with the board.

Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters β€” see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.

β€œThere are three license classifications in Clinical Mental Health: Clinical Mental Health Counselor, Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor and Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor Extern.”

A 60-credit degree on a CACREP route or a CHEA-recognized route

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-405(1)(c), (3)

The degree rule has two main routes.

Route A is a master's or doctorate in clinical mental health counseling, clinical rehabilitation counseling, or counselor education and supervision from a program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs.

Route B is a master's or doctorate in clinical mental health counseling or an equivalent field from a program affiliated with an institution holding accreditation recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

Either way the transcripts must show at least 60 semester credit hours or 90 quarter credit hours of related coursework, and the statute sets that as a floor.

A third route in 58-60-405(3) satisfies the education requirement with a CACREP-accredited rehabilitation counseling degree when the applicant also documents a passing score on the National Counselor Examination β€” worth knowing for rehabilitation counseling graduates whose program title sits outside the first two routes.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

1,200 direct client care hours, with the 3,000 total only if Medicare requires it

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-405(1)(e), (1)(d); DOPL CMHC apply page

The 2026 statute builds the requirement around direct client care: not less than 1,200 direct client care hours obtained after completing the education requirements, including not less than 100 direct clinical supervision hours under a clinical supervisor, not less than 25 direct observation hours and not more than 25 group supervision hours when the group is concurrent with more than one other applicant for licensure.

The familiar 3,000-hour figure survives only as a conditional clause: an applicant documents not less than 3,000 hours of clinical supervision, or not less than two years of it, if required under federal law to qualify as an eligible professional under CMS rules for Medicare payment.

DOPL's apply page, published April 30, 2026 before the new law took effect, still describes a flat 3,000 total keyed to the associate issuance date β€” 1,200 direct and 100 supervision for associates issued on or after May 1, 2024, or 1,000 and 75 before.

Ask DOPL how it applies the conditional clause to a current application before you plan your hours around either figure.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œdocument successful completion of not less than 1,200 direct client care hours: (i) obtained after completion of the education requirements under Subsection (1)(c) ; (ii) subject to Subsection (1)(e)(iii) , not less than 100 of which are direct clinical supervision hours under the supervision of a clinical supervisor; (iii) not less than 25 of which are direct observation hours; and (iv) not more than 25 of which are group supervision hours concurrently with more than one other applicant for licensure”

The NCMHCE β€” and a statutory route around a failed attempt

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-405(1)(g), (1)(f); DOPL exam information page

DOPL's exam page names the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination, processed through the National Board for Certified Counselors, as the requirement for the CMHC, and states there is no examination requirement for the associate classifications.

The 2026 rewrite added an alternative to passing: an applicant may instead document at least one examination attempt that did not result in a passing score, complete not less than 500 additional direct client care hours including not less than 25 direct clinical supervision hours and not less than 5 direct observation hours, and submit two recommendation letters β€” one from the direct clinical supervisor, one from another licensed mental health therapist who has directly observed the applicant's client care and is not that supervisor.

Applicants also need not less than two hours of suicide-prevention training via a division-approved course, taken after the education requirements.

The Counseling Compact commission's fee table records no Utah jurisprudence exam.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œ(A) document at least one examination attempt that did not result in a passing score; (B) document successful completion of not less than 500 additional direct client care hours, not less than 25 of which are direct clinical supervision hours, and not less than five of which are direct observation hours by a clinical supervisor; (C) submit to the division a recommendation letter from the applicant's direct clinical supervisor; and (D) submit to the division a recommendation letter from another licensed mental health therapist who has directly observed the applicant's direct client care hours and who is not the applicant's direct clinical supervisor;”

Direct observation, capped group hours, and 2027 supervisor training

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-405(1)(e); DOPL supervisor announcement

For an associate choosing where to work, the shape of the supervision matters more than its total.

Not less than 100 of the direct client care hours must be direct clinical supervision hours under a clinical supervisor, and not less than 25 must be direct observation hours β€” someone watching the work, not just discussing it.

Group supervision can supply no more than 25 of the hours, and then only when the group is concurrent with more than one other applicant for licensure.

Utah has no separate supervisor license; supervisors hold DOPL approved supervisor status, and DOPL has announced that beginning January 1, 2027 all supervisors must complete required training to maintain that status β€” a question worth asking any supervisor you sign with before then.

No telesupervision provision was located in the sources read, and DOPL's rule chapter was not retrieved, so confirm in writing how video supervision is treated before relying on it.

For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?

β€œBeginning January 1, 2027, all supervisors must complete required training to maintain their approved supervisor status.”

The licence covers the therapy practice that 58-60-402 defines

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-402

Utah defines the regulated practice rather than listing tasks: the practice of clinical mental health counseling means the practice of mental health therapy by observation, description, evaluation, interpretation, intervention and treatment, applying generally recognized clinical mental health counseling principles, methods and procedures, to prevent, treat or eliminate mental or emotional illness or dysfunction, symptoms of any of these, or maladaptive behavior.

The definition was amended by 2024 legislation, so a guide quoting the older wording may not match the current statute.

For a licensee the practical reading is that the licence attaches to this therapy practice; the sources read do not address psychological testing or any instrument-level restriction for Utah counselors, so assume neither β€” raise assessment questions with DOPL directly.

β€œ"practice of clinical mental health counseling" means the practice of mental health therapy by means of observation, description, evaluation, interpretation, intervention, and treatment to effect modification of human behavior by the application of generally recognized clinical mental health counseling principles, methods, and procedures for the purpose of preventing, treating, or eliminating mental or emotional illness or dysfunction, symptoms of any of these, or maladaptive behavior.”

Moving to Utah: endorsement, and a stale chart to disregard

πŸ“œ DOPL CMHC apply-for-a-license page

DOPL states that a counselor currently licensed as a Clinical Mental Health Counselor in any state, territory or district of the United States may qualify for licensure by endorsement.

The operative statutory condition was not among the sources read, so treat DOPL's page as the starting point and confirm the current conditions with the division before relying on a summary.

One trap sits on DOPL's own site: its endorsement chart, last updated February 23, 2021, still circulates a requirement of 4,000 hours of training plus passing both the NCE and the NCMHCE β€” figures superseded by the current 58-60-405, which is built on 1,200 direct client care hours and the NCMHCE.

If a form, employer or chart cites the 2021 numbers, ask the division which standard applies.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œIf you are currently licensed as a Clinical Mental Health Counselor in a state, territory, or district of the United States you may qualify for licensure by endorsement.”

Counseling Compact: enacted in 2022, not live as of September 2026

πŸ“œ Utah Code Title 58, Chapter 60a; Counseling Compact Commission website (2026-09-24)

Utah enacted the Counseling Compact in Utah Code Title 58, Chapter 60a, whose current version is dated May 4, 2022, and the commission's recorded status for Utah as of September 24, 2026 is member with Compact Live = No. Enactment is not operation: as of September 2026 a Utah CMHC cannot use the Compact to obtain a privilege to practise in another member state, and a counselor licensed in another member state cannot use the Compact to practise in Utah.

The route into Utah remains a Utah licence, by examination under 58-60-405 or by endorsement.

Check the commission and DOPL for the current status before relying on either reading.

For how the compact’s privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.

Renewal: September 30 of even years, first cycle pro-rated

πŸ“œ DOPL renew-a-license page

Clinical Mental Health Counselor licenses renew on DOPL's cycle, due September 30 of even years.

Licensees completing their first continuing-education cycle who have not been licensed two full years owe a pro-rated amount, measured from the license issue date to the expiration date.

What the sources read do not establish is the total CE hours for a full cycle β€” DOPL's rule chapter was not retrieved, and no primary rule text stating the figure was located.

Ask DOPL or check the current rule before planning a renewal cycle's hours.

β€œlicensees who are completing their first cycle of continuing education and have not been licensed for 2 full years will be required to complete 1.6 hours of CE for each month they were licensed, based on the license issue date - expiration date.”

2024 changed the definition, 2026 changed the hours, 2027 reaches supervisors

πŸ“œ Utah Code 58-60-402, 58-60-405; 2024 GS ch. 420; 2026 GS ch. 64; DOPL announcements

Three dated changes matter.

Chapter 420 of the 2024 General Session amended the 58-60-402 practice definition, effective May 1, 2024, and DOPL moved the hour standard for associates issued on or after May 1, 2024 to 1,200 direct client care hours and 100 supervision hours, from 1,000 and 75.

Chapter 64 of the 2026 General Session rewrote 58-60-405 effective July 1, 2026: the core requirement is now the 1,200 direct client care hours, the 3,000-hour or two-year total is conditional on federal Medicare rules, and the exam-failure alternative of 500 additional hours plus two recommendation letters became part of the statute.

From January 1, 2027, supervisors must complete required training to keep their approved supervisor status.

A guide written before July 2026 can be right about the old structure and wrong about today's.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Utah statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Department of Commerce) publishes.

Nor does it cover social work licensure in Utah, MFT licensure in Utah, or what therapists earn in Utah.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Department of Commerce) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Utah that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I start counting supervised hours before I finish my degree in Utah?

No under the current statute.

Utah Code 58-60-405(1)(e)(i) counts direct client care hours only if they are obtained after completion of the education requirements in Subsection (1)(c).

The associate application under 58-60-405(2) covers education, a background check and the conditional Medicare documentation of (1)(d), but not the 1,200 direct client care hours, which are the CMHC requirement.

If your program's clock and conferral date disagree, confirm the cutoff with DOPL before you rely on any pre-graduation sessions.

What happens if I fail the NCMHCE in Utah?

The statute offers a documented alternative to passing.

Under 58-60-405(1)(g)(ii) you document at least one failed attempt, complete not less than 500 additional direct client care hours β€” including not less than 25 direct clinical supervision hours and not less than 5 direct observation hours by a clinical supervisor β€” and submit two recommendation letters: one from your direct clinical supervisor, one from another licensed mental health therapist who directly observed your client care and is not your supervisor.

Confirm the paperwork with DOPL before counting on it.

Does Utah require 3,000 supervised hours for counselors?

Not as a flat rule any more.

Since July 1, 2026, the core requirement in Utah Code 58-60-405(1)(e) is not less than 1,200 direct client care hours with 100 hours of direct clinical supervision.

The 3,000-hour total, or two years of clinical supervision, is a conditional clause: it applies if required under federal law to qualify as an eligible professional under CMS rules for Medicare payment.

DOPL's apply page still describes a flat 3,000 total, but it was published before the new law, so ask the division how it treats your application.

Is Utah's Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor a license or a registration?

It is a license.

Utah Code 58-60-404 directs the division to issue licenses in the associate classification as well as the clinical mental health counselor classification, and DOPL's exam page lists the Associate CMHC Extern classification alongside them.

An associate applicant complies with the education, conditional Medicare-documentation and background-check provisions of 58-60-405(2), with no examination.

What the ACMHC may do in practice day to day is governed by DOPL's administrative rule, which was not among the sources read for this page β€” ask the division about practice conditions before signing an employment contract.

Can I practise in Utah under the Counseling Compact?

Not as of September 2026.

Utah enacted the Counseling Compact in Utah Code Title 58, Chapter 60a, but the Counseling Compact Commission's recorded status for Utah as of September 24, 2026 is member with Compact Live = No, so no Compact privileges are being issued or accepted through Utah.

To practise in Utah, the route is a Utah Clinical Mental Health Counselor license, by examination or by endorsement.

Check the commission and DOPL before you rely on either status.

Find Mental Health Counselor Jobs in Utah
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Utah & Mental Health Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Department of Commerce).