🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in South Dakota: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

South Dakota licenses social workers at three levels β€” social work associate, social worker, and certified social worker β€” and reserves private, independent practice for a separate status above the master's-level license: the certified social worker in private, independent practice (CSW-PIP).

There is no LCSW title.

The CSW-PIP takes two years of supervised experience in a field of specialization, at least thirty hours a week and four hours of individual supervision a month; no total-hour figure is stated.

Every tier passes a board-prescribed ASWB exam, and the licensure compact is enacted but not yet issuing multistate licenses.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In South Dakota, that is the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners.

At a glance

Clinical license

There is no LCSW title in South Dakota.

Clinical social work is practiced by a social worker with a master's or doctoral degree licensed under SDCL 36-26-14 or 36-26-17 (SDCL 36-26-45); private, independent practice requires the certified social worker in private, independent practice (CSW-PIP) status (SDCL 36-26-17).

Other license levels

Social work associate and social worker (baccalaureate), plus the certified social worker (CSW) at the master's level, and a multistate license under the compact chapter, SDCL 36-26A.

Each tier's statute also lists the board's examination.

Degree

Social work associate: a bachelor's in a nonsocial work field or an approved associate of arts in the human services.

Social worker: a bachelor's in a social work or social welfare program accredited by the council on social work education.

CSW: a doctorate or master's from an accredited school of social work.

Supervised experience

For the CSW-PIP: two years of experience under appropriate supervision in the field of specialization in which the applicant will practice (SDCL 36-26-17).

The rule requires at least thirty worked hours per week with four monthly hours of individual supervision; eighteen to twenty-nine hours per week takes four years with two monthly supervision hours (ARSD 20:59:05:07).

No total-hour figure is stated in the sources read.

ASWB exam

An applicant must pass the board-prescribed examination provided by the Association of Social Work Boards (ARSD 20:59:06:01).

Which ASWB level goes with which tier is not stated in the rule.

Supervisor requirement

A CSW-PIP supervisor must be a CSW-PIP, psychologist, or psychiatrist licensed in good standing in South Dakota for at least two years, with six hours of supervisor CE before the agreement and three hours every two years after (ARSD 20:59:05:03), on an agreement the board approves before supervision begins.

Social Work Compact

Enacted β€” SDCL ch. 36-26A (SL 2024, ch 160); South Dakota was among the first seven states, which activated the compact on 2024-04-12.

Not operational as of September 2026: no multistate licenses are being issued.

Renewal & CE

Licenses expire on the first day of January of the second year succeeding issuance and may be renewed every two years (SDCL 36-26-23).

Renewal takes thirty hours of continuing education within the previous two-year license period, at least six in social work ethics (ARSD 20:59:04:02).

The South Dakota credential ladder

  1. Social work associateOther

    An entry license issued on a bachelor's degree in a nonsocial work field or a board-approved human-services associate degree, plus the board's examination; its holder may practice only under the supervision of a certified social worker or social worker (SDCL 36-26-16; 36-26-10).

  2. Social workerOther

    The baccalaureate license, issued on a bachelor's degree in a social work or social welfare program accredited by the council on social work education, plus the board's examination (SDCL 36-26-15).

  3. Certified social worker(CSW)Other

    The master's-level license, issued on a doctorate or master's degree from an accredited school of social work; it is the license under which CSW-PIP supervised experience is earned, and clinical social work may be practiced under it (SDCL 36-26-14; 36-26-17; 36-26-45).

  4. Certified social worker in private, independent practice(CSW-PIP)Independent

    The status private, independent practice requires: a certified social worker with two years of supervised experience in the field of specialization in which the applicant will practice, and the board's examination for this purpose (SDCL 36-26-17).

  5. Multistate licenseOther

    An overlay on the ladder rather than a practice level: a compact license the board is directed to issue alongside a South Dakota license, added to the issuance list by SL 2026, ch 161; the compact is not yet operational, so none were being issued as of September 2026.

Three licenses, one independent-practice status, and no LCSW

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-13; 36-26-14; 36-26-17; 36-26-45

The board shall issue a license as a certified social worker, a social worker, or a social work associate β€” and, since the 2026 amendment of SDCL 36-26-13, a multistate license as provided in the compact chapter.

Independent practice is not a fourth license level but a status layered onto the certified social worker: the certified social worker in private, independent practice (CSW-PIP), which the rules write out in full.

South Dakota never prints the LCSW letters, so a posting or form asking for an LCSW here needs translating before you file anything.

The certified social worker is a full license in its own right: clinical social work is practiced by a social worker with a master's or doctoral degree licensed under SDCL 36-26-14 or 36-26-17, so agency clinical work happens on the CSW.

What the CSW alone cannot do is engage in the private, independent practice of social work β€” that is the CSW-PIP's gate.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œThe board shall issue a license as a certified social worker, a social worker, or a social work associate, or a multistate license as provided in Β§ 36-26A-1.”

Each tier carries its own degree rule, all naming the same accreditor

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-14; 36-26-15; 36-26-16

The certified social worker needs a doctorate or master's degree from a school of social work accredited by the council on social work education (SDCL 36-26-14).

The social worker license needs a baccalaureate degree in a social work or social welfare program accredited by the same council (SDCL 36-26-15).

The social work associate is the accessible rung: a baccalaureate degree in a nonsocial work field or discipline, or an associate of arts degree in the human services, in a program approved by the board (SDCL 36-26-16).

Every tier's statute also lists an examination prepared by the board for this purpose.

The CSW-PIP adds no further degree requirement β€” it builds on the certified social worker license with supervised experience and that same board examination, so the master's or doctorate you earned for the CSW carries through.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

Two years under supervision β€” and no hour total anywhere in the rules

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-17; ARSD 20:59:05:07

The statute requires two years of experience under appropriate supervision in the field of specialization in which the applicant will practice, with psychotherapy, community organization, or planning given as examples.

The rule sets the cadence: the CSW-PIP candidate works at least thirty hours per week, the supervisor provides a minimum of four hours of individual supervision per month, and group supervision or consultation cannot exceed one-half of the total supervision time in each six-month period.

Part-time candidates working at least eighteen hours per week follow a set schedule: eighteen to twenty-nine hours a week takes four years with two monthly supervision hours, while thirty and above takes two years with four.

The supervisor reports to the board every six months, and when the supervisor is not physically present they must be available by telecommunications or technology.

The statute says two years and the rule says weekly and monthly minimums; neither states a total of hours, so confirm any running total with the board rather than adopting a number from elsewhere.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œNo person may engage in the private, independent practice of social work unless he: (1) Is licensed under this chapter as a certified social worker; (2) Has had two years of experience under appropriate supervision in the field of specialization in which the applicant will practice (e.g., psychotherapy, community organization, or planning); and (3) Has passed an examination prepared by the board for this purpose.”

One board-prescribed ASWB exam β€” and the level is not stated

πŸ“œ ARSD 20:59:06:01; SDCL 36-26-14; 36-26-17

The examination rule is a single sentence requiring the board-prescribed examination provided by the Association of Social Work Boards, and it does not say which ASWB level attaches to which tier.

No tier's statute names a level either: the statutes say an examination prepared by the board for this purpose, which the ASWB-provided rule implements β€” the rule's own law-implemented list ties it to the examination requirement of each license the chapter creates, from social work associate through CSW-PIP.

Before registering, confirm with the board which level applies to your tier rather than assuming one exam score carries between tiers.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œAn applicant must pass the board-prescribed examination provided by the Association of Social Work Boards.”

Choosing a CSW-PIP supervisor: discipline, CE, and a board-approved agreement

πŸ“œ ARSD 20:59:05:03; 20:59:05:04; 20:59:05:05; 20:59:05:12

The supervisor of a CSW-PIP candidate must be a CSW-PIP, psychologist, or psychiatrist licensed in good standing in South Dakota for at least two years, and must complete six hours of supervisor continuing education before submitting a proposed supervision agreement and three hours every two years once supervision of any candidate begins.

The supervisor must primarily practice in the same practice area in which the candidate will practice, though the board may make an exception for good cause.

The supervision agreement is filed with and approved by the board before the supervision needed for SDCL 36-26-17(2) begins, and if the candidate's practice status changes, a new or amended agreement must be approved before the change is permitted.

Supervisors must at all times assess the relationship between candidate and clients and provide supervision even beyond the rule's minimums, and the board may terminate an agreement it finds inadequate.

For a certified social worker choosing where to earn the PIP years, the would-be supervisor's discipline, standing, and approved agreement are the first things to verify.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œA supervisor may only supervise a CSW-PIP candidate upon the board finding that adequate supervision will exist under the proposed supervision agreement. A holder of a temporary permit or license may not supervise a CSW-PIP candidate.”

Clinical work is not the same as private, independent practice

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-45; 36-26-17; 36-26-10

South Dakota defines clinical social work broadly β€” individual, family, and small group psychotherapy, with services spanning assessment, diagnosis, treatment, client-centered advocacy, consultation, and evaluation β€” and attaches it to a social worker with a master's or doctoral degree licensed under SDCL 36-26-14 or 36-26-17.

A certified social worker therefore practices clinical social work; what the statute reserves through SDCL 36-26-17 is the private, independent practice of social work, the CSW-PIP's gate.

The boundary around unlicensed practice is a Class 2 misdemeanor: no person may practice or attempt to practice social work as a certified social worker, social worker, or social work associate without a license, and the social work associate may practice only under the supervision of a certified social worker or social worker.

The practical sequence for a new master's graduate: CSW first, clinical work under it, then the two supervised years toward the CSW-PIP before private, independent practice opens.

β€œClinical social work is practiced by a social worker who has received a master's or doctoral degree and is licensed under Β§ 36-26-14 or 36-26-17. Clinical social work includes individual, family, and small group psychotherapy.”

Moving to South Dakota: an exam exemption with supervision proof attached

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-18; ARSD 20:59:05:06

An applicant is exempted from the requirement for any examination if they are licensed in a state that imposes substantially the same requirements as the chapter and has taken and passed a similar examination there.

The file still has teeth: verification of licensure on a board form from any state where the applicant holds or has held a license, and official transcripts from the degree-granting college or university.

For the certified social worker-private independent practice license specifically, the applicant must also provide proof of supervision from the state of original licensure β€” a requirement the board may waive upon establishing that the state is unable to provide the documentation.

Separately, the rules let out-of-state supervision satisfy all or some of the CSW-PIP supervisory requirements when the board finds what was received was substantially equivalent.

A relocating clinician should line up supervision documentation before filing, not after.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œIf applying for a license as a certified social worker-private independent practice, the applicant provides proof of supervision from the state from which original licensure was obtained. The board may waive this requirement, upon establishing the state is unable to provide the documentation.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted, activated, not yet issuing

πŸ“œ SDCL ch. 36-26A; 36-26A-1; 36-26-18.1; Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

South Dakota enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact as chapter 36-26A, sourced to SL 2024, ch 160, and was among the first seven states, which activated the compact on 2024-04-12 per commission news.

The enabling idea predates that by over a decade: since 2013 the board has been authorized to enter a national or multi-state licensing compact to provide licensing reciprocity for social workers.

Enacted is not the same as usable β€” as of September 2026 the commission is not issuing multistate licenses anywhere, and it estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than naming a launch date.

Until multistate licenses begin, practicing in South Dakota still takes a South Dakota license by the standard route or the endorsement route above.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

β€œThe board may enter into a national or multi-state licensing compact to provide licensing reciprocity for social workers.”

Renew every two years: thirty hours, six of them in ethics

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-23; 36-26-26; ARSD 20:59:04:02; 20:59:04:01.01; 20:59:04:04

All licenses issued by the board expire on the first day of January of the second year succeeding issuance and may be renewed every two years on payment of a board-fixed fee.

Renewal applications must include a certificate of successful completion of thirty hours of continuing education taken within the previous two-year license period, at least six of them on social work ethics.

The board may allow academic credit β€” one academic credit hour equals fifteen contact hours β€” but no more than ten hours may come from independent or group study such as audio or video tapes, preparing or publishing a professional paper, or reading professional books or articles.

The statute adds two limits on the board itself: it cannot require a greater number of hours of annual continuing education study than are available at courses approved by the board and held within the state, and it is allowed to waive the requirement in case of certified illness or undue hardship β€” the rule's illness waiver path needs a physician's certified statement filed at least thirty days before expiration.

β€œAll licensees submitting applications for license renewal must include a certificate of successful completion of thirty hours of continuing education taken within the previous two-year license period. At least six of the thirty hours of continuing education must be on the subject of social work ethics.”

What changed, 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-13 (SL 2026, ch 161); SDCL ch. 36-26A (SL 2024, ch 160); ARSD 20:59:04:06; ARSD 20:59:05:07; 20:59:05:09; 20:59:05:12

Two statute-level changes head the window.

In 2024 the Legislature enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact as chapter 36-26A (SL 2024, ch 160), and in 2026 it amended the board's issuance list so a multistate license is issued as provided in SDCL 36-26A-1 (SL 2026, ch 161) β€” even though the compact is not yet issuing licenses.

The board's rulebook was amended effective November 11, 2024 (51 SDR 52): the CSW-PIP supervision chapter, the continuing-education amount rule, the illness waiver, and the examination rule all carry that amendment date.

The same action repealed two rules β€” continuing education obtained out-of-state (ARSD 20:59:04:06) and additional supervisor responsibilities (ARSD 20:59:05:09) β€” and newly adopted the board's power to terminate a supervision agreement it finds inadequate (ARSD 20:59:05:12), whose only source note is that action.

The saved texts show current wording; they do not show what each surviving amendment changed line by line.

The associate tier is supervised from day one

πŸ“œ SDCL 36-26-10; ARSD 20:59:05:01

The social work associate is the entry license for a nonsocial work bachelor's or a human-services associate degree, and the rules keep it supervised throughout: supervision by a licensed social worker or licensed certified social worker must include at least four contact hours each month, and the associate is responsible for having their supervisor submit an annual report on a board form.

Practicing β€” or attempting to practice β€” social work as a certified social worker, social worker, or social work associate without a license is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

For a human-services graduate weighing the associate license against waiting for a social work degree, the practical read is that this is a supervised license with the monthly supervision and annual reporting sitting with the employer's licensee, not a step toward independent practice β€” the private, independent practice gate runs through the master's level and the CSW-PIP.

β€œIt is a Class 2 misdemeanor for any person or persons to engage in the practice, or attempt to practice, social work as a certified social worker, social worker or social work associate without a license issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter. No social work associate may practice except under the supervision of a certified social worker or social worker.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the South Dakota statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in South Dakota, MFT licensure in South Dakota, or what therapists earn in South Dakota.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in South Dakota that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does South Dakota have an LCSW license?

No. The board's list of licenses is certified social worker, social worker, and social work associate, plus a multistate license (SDCL 36-26-13).

Clinical social work is practiced by a social worker with a master's or doctoral degree licensed under SDCL 36-26-14 or 36-26-17 (SDCL 36-26-45), and private, independent practice requires the certified social worker in private, independent practice (CSW-PIP) status.

A posting asking for an LCSW in South Dakota is reaching for the CSW-PIP; confirm with the board before applying.

How many supervised hours does the South Dakota CSW-PIP require?

No total of hours is stated in the sources read.

SDCL 36-26-17 requires two years of experience under appropriate supervision in the field of specialization in which the applicant will practice, and ARSD 20:59:05:07 sets the cadence: at least thirty worked hours per week with a minimum of four hours of individual supervision per month.

Working eighteen to twenty-nine hours a week takes four years with two monthly supervision hours.

Confirm any running total with the board β€” a generic 3,000-hour figure does not come from South Dakota law.

I am licensed in a state with similar requirements. Can I skip the exam?

Possibly.

SDCL 36-26-18 exempts an applicant from the examination if they are licensed in a state that imposes substantially the same requirements as the chapter and has taken and passed a similar examination there, with verification of licensure from each state of licensure and official transcripts.

A CSW-PIP applicant must also provide proof of supervision from the state of original licensure, which the board may waive if that state cannot produce the documentation.

Out-of-state supervision can further satisfy part of the CSW-PIP requirement on a board finding of substantial equivalence (ARSD 20:59:05:06).

Who can supervise my hours toward the CSW-PIP?

A CSW-PIP, psychologist, or psychiatrist licensed in good standing in South Dakota for at least two years (ARSD 20:59:05:03), who has completed six hours of supervisor continuing education before the supervision agreement is submitted and three hours every two years once supervising.

The supervisor must primarily practice in your practice area, unless the board makes an exception for good cause (ARSD 20:59:05:04), and the board must approve the supervision agreement before the supervision counts β€” hours worked under an unapproved agreement are at risk.

A holder of a temporary permit or license may not supervise a CSW-PIP candidate.

Can I practice in South Dakota on a compact multistate license?

Not yet.

The Legislature enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact as SDCL chapter 36-26A in 2024, and South Dakota was among the first seven states that activated the compact on 2024-04-12.

As of September 2026 the commission is not issuing multistate licenses, and it estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than naming a launch date.

Until multistate licenses begin, practice in South Dakota requires a South Dakota license through the standard route or the endorsement route under SDCL 36-26-18.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in South Dakota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More South Dakota & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners.