🧭 Counselor licensure

Counselor Licensure in South Dakota: LPC Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

South Dakota licenses counselors on two tiers: the Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) and the Licensed Professional Counselor–Mental Health (LPC-MH), the mental-health tier.

Hours accrue under a board-approved post graduate plan of supervision — a plan approval, not a license.

The LPC requires 2,000 hours of postgraduate supervision within the four years before applying, plus the NCE.

The LPC-MH adds a CACREP-or-equivalent mental-health degree, 2,000 direct client contact hours and the NCMHCE.

Programs begun on or after July 1, 2024 need 60 credit hours, and 48–59-credit licensees are not Compact-eligible.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In South Dakota, that is the South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors & Marriage and Family Therapists.

At a glance

Independent license

Licensed Professional Counselor–Mental Health (LPC-MH), the second of South Dakota's two counseling licenses and its mental-health/clinical tier (SDCL 36-32-65).

The plain LPC (36-32-64) is itself a full license; the sources read state no express scope bar on it.

Pre-licensure title

None issued.

Hours accrue under a board approved post graduate plan of supervision (ARSD 20:68:01:09) — a plan approval, not a license — and the rule's name for the person accruing them is a supervisee (ARSD 20:68:04:08(5)).

Degree

A master's or doctoral degree of at least 48 credit hours in counseling from an accredited counseling program recognized by the board if the program began before July 1, 2024, or 60 credit hours if it began on or after that date (SDCL 36-32-64(1)); the LPC-MH adds CACREP approval, or an equivalent program, with a mental-health counseling emphasis (36-32-65(3)).

A 48–59-credit graduate can still be licensed but is not Compact-eligible (36-32-64.1, 36-32-65.1).

Supervised experience

LPC: 2,000 hours of postgraduate supervision within the four years preceding application — at least 1,000 direct client contact (no more than 400 by electronic means), at least 100 supervision hours, at least 900 counseling-related activities (SDCL 36-32-64(3); ARSD 20:68:04:10).

LPC-MH: 2,000 hours of direct client contact plus 100 supervision hours (36-32-65(5); ARSD 20:73:04:08).

No minimum months is stated beyond the 4-year window.

Exams

LPC: the National Counselor Examination (SDCL 36-32-64(2)) or, by rule, the Counselor Rehabilitation Certification Examination (ARSD 20:68:05:01).

LPC-MH: the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (36-32-65(4)).

No jurisprudence exam (commission table, 2026-09-24).

Supervisor requirement

No separate supervisor license.

A board-approved supervisor is licensed as an LPC, LPC-MH, marriage and family therapist, CSW-PIP, psychologist or psychiatrist and holds the CCE Approved Clinical Supervisor credential, or 2 years licensed with 4 CE hours in supervision, or 1 year with 15, or AAMFT approved supervisor status (ARSD 20:68:04:09).

LPC-MH hours require the same list minus the plain LPC (ARSD 20:73:04:07).

Counseling Compact

Enacted (SDCL 36-32A-2, SL 2024, ch 164, §7); the commission's table lists South Dakota as a member with Compact Live = No as of September 2026.

A license issued under the 48–59-credit exception is not eligible to participate in the Compact (36-32-64.1, 36-32-65.1).

Renewal & CE

Licenses run to November 30 of the next even-numbered year after issuance and expire automatically unless renewed (SDCL 36-32-71); renewal requires at least 40 hours of continuing education every two years, which may be obtained electronically (36-32-73).

The South Dakota credential ladder

  1. Post graduate plan of supervisionPre-licensure

    A plan approval, not a license: the person accruing pre-licensure hours is a supervisee under a board approved post graduate plan of supervision (ARSD 20:68:01:09; 20:68:04:08(5)), and the board issues no associate license or registration for this stage.

  2. Licensed Professional Counselor(LPC)Other

    A full license — not a registration or permit — issued on the degree, the NCE (or, by rule, the CRC exam) and 2,000 hours of postgraduate supervision (SDCL 36-32-64); it is the lower of the state's two licensed counseling tiers.

  3. Licensed Professional Counselor–Mental Health(LPC-MH)Independent

    The mental-health/clinical tier, and the only license of the two that is gated on clinical coursework: an applicant must already hold the LPC license, add a CACREP-approved or equivalent degree with a mental-health counseling emphasis, pass the NCMHCE and log 2,000 hours of direct client contact postgraduate supervision (SDCL 36-32-65; ARSD 20:73:04:08).

  4. Board-approved supervisorSupervisor

    A board approval rather than a separate license: an LPC, LPC-MH, marriage and family therapist, certified social worker-private independent practice (CSW-PIP), psychologist or psychiatrist who holds the CCE Approved Clinical Supervisor credential, 2 years licensed with 4 CE hours in supervision, or 1 year with 15, or AAMFT approved supervisor status (ARSD 20:68:04:09); LPC-MH supervision requires the same list minus the plain LPC (ARSD 20:73:04:07).

Two licenses with almost the same name, and a plan instead of an associate license

📜 SDCL 36-32-64; 36-32-65; 36-32-59; ARSD 20:68:01:09; 20:68:04:08(5)

South Dakota issues exactly two counseling licenses, and the statute gates one on the other: before the board issues an LPC-MH license, the applicant has obtained licensure as a professional counselor first.

The letters are close but the licenses are not interchangeable — SDCL 36-32-59 protects the titles licensed professional counselor and licensed professional counselor--mental health (among others) for licensees, and the LPC-MH carries the extra degree emphasis, exam and direct-contact hours described below.

Before either license, nothing is issued at all: the pre-licensure stage is a board approved post graduate plan of supervision, an approval the supervisee works under rather than a credential held, which is why the board's verification portal verifies a license or a plan of supervision.

For a new graduate the practical reading is that your first verifiable status in South Dakota is a supervision plan on file with the board, not a license number.

Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters — see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.

“The applicant has obtained licensure as a professional counselor under § 36-32-64”

48 or 60 credit hours, decided by when the program began

📜 SDCL 36-32-64(1); 36-32-65(2), (3); 36-32-64.1; 36-32-65.1

The degree rule keys to a start date, not a graduation date.

A master's or doctoral degree of at least 48 credit hours in counseling from an accredited counseling program recognized by the board qualifies if the applicant began the program before July 1, 2024; programs begun on or after that date need 60 credit hours.

The same split sits in the LPC-MH statute, and the LPC-MH adds an accreditation gate of its own: a CACREP-approved degree, or an equivalent program, with an emphasis on mental health counseling shown through eight listed study areas — among them etiology, diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders, mental status assessment, and psychopharmacology.

For programs begun on or after July 1, 2024, the board may still license a graduate with 48 to 59 credit hours under SDCL 36-32-64.1 or 36-32-65.1 — but that license is not eligible to participate in the Counseling Compact, so the credit count follows the license into portability.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

“the board may issue a license as a professional counselor to an applicant who has received a master's or a doctoral degree, consisting of less than sixty credit hours but no less than forty-eight credit hours in counseling, from an accredited counseling program recognized by the board, if the applicant otherwise satisfies the requirements for licensure in § 36-32-64”

Two thousand hours, two different recipes

📜 SDCL 36-32-64(3); 36-32-65(5); ARSD 20:68:04:10; 20:73:04:08

Both licenses require 2,000 hours within the four years preceding the application, but the statutes count different things.

The LPC's 2,000 hours of postgraduate supervision break down, in ARSD 20:68:04:10, into at least 1,000 hours of direct client contact, at least 100 hours of supervision with a board approved supervisor, and at least 900 hours of counseling related activities, for which the rule credits 55 minutes per hour of direct client contact performed.

Supervision runs at one hour per 20 hours of direct contact; no more than 50 of the 100 may be group.

The LPC-MH's 2,000 hours are all direct client contact plus 100 supervision hours on the same ratio; up to 1,000 direct and 50 supervision hours from the LPC plan may carry over, but only if the supervisor met the LPC-MH qualifications when the hours accrued.

Neither rule states a minimum number of months; both statutes let the board grant a license on good cause when the four-year window is exceeded; and only hours with a board approved supervisor, recorded on the board's form, count.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“A minimum of 1,000 hours of direct client contact. No more than 400 direct client contact hours may be acquired by counseling provided through electronic means, as prescribed by chapter 20:68:06 . All other direct client contact hours must be acquired in-person”

The NCE or the CRC exam for the LPC, the NCMHCE for the LPC-MH

📜 SDCL 36-32-64(2); 36-32-65(4); ARSD 20:68:05:01

The statute requires each LPC applicant to have passed the National Counselor Examination administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors, and the examination rule adds a second route: the Counselor Rehabilitation Certification Examination, with the applicant applying directly to the National Board for Certified Counselors or the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification.

The LPC-MH requires the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination.

The two-license structure means the exams do not substitute for each other: an LPC who qualified on the NCE also sits the NCMHCE for the LPC-MH, so candidates planning the full ladder can expect two national exams.

No jurisprudence exam appears for South Dakota on the Counseling Compact Commission's fees and jurisprudence table as of September 2026.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

Choosing a supervisor, and doing supervision by screen

📜 ARSD 20:68:04:09; 20:73:04:07; 20:68:04:10; 20:73:04:08

There is no supervisor license in South Dakota — approval attaches to a licensee who holds an LPC, LPC-MH, marriage and family therapist, CSW-PIP, psychologist or psychiatrist license and qualifies through the CCE Approved Clinical Supervisor credential, two years licensed with at least 4 CE hours in supervision, one year licensed with at least 15 such CE hours, or AAMFT approved supervisor status.

The decisive list is the LPC-MH one: supervision toward the LPC-MH hours must come from an LPC-MH, marriage and family therapist, CSW-PIP, psychologist or psychiatrist — a plain LPC is not on it, and the carryover of LPC hours is only safe if the supervisor met that standard when the hours accrued.

A supervisee aiming at the LPC-MH should pick a supervisor from that list on day one.

Individual supervision means a supervisor and up to two supervisees; group means three or more, and no more than 50 of the 100 hours may be group.

Approval lapses automatically if the supervisor ceases to meet the qualification it was granted on or comes under discipline.

For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?

“Supervision may take place by electronic means, as prescribed by chapter 20:68:06 and must be synchronous.”

What the chapters read fix, and what they leave open

📜 SDCL 36-32-61; 36-32-47(3), (8); 36-32-91

The statute's own definitions are broad: counseling is defined to include the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness or mental and emotional disorders, and the practice of professional counseling includes conducting assessments and diagnoses to establish treatment goals.

The only scope limit in the chapters read is a general one for every licensee: no counseling services outside the scope of the licensee's relevant education, training, and experience.

Whether a plain LPC — as opposed to an LPC-MH — may diagnose or practise independently is not settled by the sources read, and neither a restriction nor a blanket clearance should be assumed; how employers, payers and facilities divide clinical work between the two licenses was likewise not stated, so ask the board before relying on either reading.

One provision is unambiguous and matters for telehealth: counseling provided through electronic means to a patient located in South Dakota is engaged in the practice of counseling in this state, regardless of the provider's physical location.

“No licensee may perform counseling services that are outside the scope of the licensee's relevant education, training, and experience.”

Moving to South Dakota: three years under another board

📜 SDCL 36-32-67; ARSD 20:68:01:11; 20:68:01:12

A counselor licensed elsewhere can be licensed in South Dakota — as either an LPC or an LPC-MH — on endorsement, but the doorway is time-gated: the applicant must currently be licensed and must have been under the other jurisdiction's licensing authority for at least three continuous years before applying.

Active practice during that three-year period is defined as at least 1,500 hours of clinical experience, the applicant must have passed the standard national examination approved by the board for the specific license sought (the NCE or CRC route for the LPC, the NCMHCE for the LPC-MH), and the record must be clean of unprofessional conduct and pending complaints.

A clinician licensed in another state for less than three continuous years does not fit this section; the standard application routes in SDCL 36-32-64 and 36-32-65 are what the sources read leave them.

The rule chapter also carries an application for a temporary license for an applicant licensed in another state (ARSD 20:68:01:12); its terms were not in the sources read.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

“The applicant is currently licensed as a counselor and has been under the jurisdiction of the licensing authority in the other jurisdiction for at least three continuous years prior to the time of submitting an application to the board”

Counseling Compact: enacted in 2024, not yet live

📜 SDCL 36-32A-2; 36-32-95; commission fees table, 2026-09-24

South Dakota enacted the Counseling Compact through SL 2024, ch 164, § 7, codified at SDCL 36-32A-2, and the commission's fees and jurisdiction table lists it as a member state with Compact Live = No as of September 2026.

Not live means no privileges: a South Dakota counselor cannot use the Compact to practise elsewhere, and a counselor licensed in a live state cannot use it to practise here — the route in either direction is a South Dakota license, by application under SDCL 36-32-64 or 36-32-65 or by endorsement under 36-32-67.

Two South Dakota wrinkles are written into the enactment itself.

The 48–59-credit exception licenses are barred from Compact participation by the same sections that create them, so for anyone licensed under that route the degree credit count decides portability, not just licensure.

And the board must implement a state and federal fingerprint-based criminal background check for licensees seeking to participate in the Compact, with the licensee paying the cost.

The effective date of SL 2024, ch 164 was not stated in the sources read.

For how the compact’s privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.

“An applicant who is issued a license as a professional counselor under this section is not eligible to participate in the counseling licensure compact adopted by § 36-32A-2”

Renewal: November 30 of even years, 40 CE hours every two years

📜 SDCL 36-32-71; 36-32-72; 36-32-73

Every license under the chapter runs to November 30 of the next even-numbered year after issuance and expires automatically unless renewed; a licensee who fails to renew by November 30 of an even-numbered year is automatically suspended; a person who submits the renewal application and proof of CE compliance within thirty days after the expiration date may be granted a license renewal.

The education floor is at least 40 hours of continuing education every two years, in a manner and with an instructor approved by the board, and the hours may be obtained through electronic means.

Two practical provisions sit in the same section: an initial license granted for less than two years carries a prorated CE requirement for that first period, and the board may extend or waive the requirement on a showing of good cause before the license expires.

The administrative rule chapter 20:68:07 carries the detailed CE rules on records, qualified programs and credit restrictions; its text was not in the sources read, so confirm topic requirements with the board rather than assuming any ethics minimum.

“A license issued under this chapter, other than a temporary license, is valid until November thirtieth of the next even-numbered year following the date of issuance.”

What SL 2024, ch 164 changed — a split that reaches portability

📜 SL 2024, ch 164; SDCL 36-32-64(1); 36-32-64.1; 36-32-65.1; 36-32-95; ARSD 20:68:04:10

Among the changes SL 2024, ch 164 made to this chapter, four reach this page.

It rewrote the degree requirement as a split: 48 credit hours for programs begun before July 1, 2024, 60 for programs begun on or after that date, in both the LPC and LPC-MH statutes.

It created the exception routes in SDCL 36-32-64.1 and 36-32-65.1 under which the board may still license a 48–59-credit graduate — expressly without Compact eligibility.

It enacted the Counseling Compact at SDCL 36-32A-2.

And it directed the board to set up the fingerprint-based background check for Compact participants at the licensee's cost (SDCL 36-32-95).

The supervised-experience rule itself is older: ARSD 20:68:04:10 was last amended effective November 24, 2022 (49 SDR 51).

The dating rule of thumb for older guides is therefore: a page showing a flat 48-credit requirement, or no Compact at all, predates the split; check the credit rule against the program start date, not the graduation date.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the South Dakota statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors & Marriage and Family Therapists publishes.

Nor does it cover social work licensure in South Dakota, MFT licensure in South Dakota, or what therapists earn in South Dakota.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors & Marriage and Family Therapists before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in South Dakota that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between the South Dakota LPC and the LPC-MH?

Both are licenses under SDCL ch. 36-32; the LPC-MH is the mental-health tier.

Its applicant must already hold the LPC license, hold a CACREP-approved or equivalent degree with a mental-health counseling emphasis, pass the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination, and complete 2,000 hours of direct client contact — the LPC's 2,000 hours need only 1,000 of direct contact.

The supervisor rules differ too: LPC-MH hours must be supervised by an LPC-MH, marriage and family therapist, CSW-PIP, psychologist or psychiatrist — a plain LPC is not on that supervisor-qualification list (ARSD 20:73:04:07).

Ask the board which tier your career plans require before choosing a degree or supervisor.

Do my LPC supervised hours count toward the LPC-MH in South Dakota?

Partially, and only under a condition.

ARSD 20:73:04:08 lets an LPC-MH applicant count a maximum of 1,000 direct client contact hours and a maximum of 50 supervision hours acquired under the LPC's post graduate plan of supervision — but only if the supervisor providing that supervision met the LPC-MH supervisor qualifications in ARSD 20:73:04:07 at the time the hours were accrued.

That list covers LPC-MH, marriage and family therapist, CSW-PIP, psychologist and psychiatrist supervisors, not plain LPCs.

If the LPC-MH is the goal, choose a supervisor from the LPC-MH list from the start.

Can supervision be done by video in South Dakota?

Yes, if it is synchronous.

ARSD 20:68:04:10 and 20:73:04:08 both state that supervision may take place by electronic means and must be synchronous.

The tighter limit falls on client work, not supervision: for the LPC license, no more than 400 of the 1,000 required direct client contact hours may be acquired through electronic means and all other direct hours must be in person.

The sources read state no equivalent cap for the LPC-MH's 2,000 direct hours, so confirm that chapter's current terms with the board before counting electronic client hours.

I graduated from a 48-credit program. Can I still get licensed in South Dakota?

It depends on when the program began, not when you graduated.

The 48-credit standard applies to programs begun before July 1, 2024; programs begun on or after that date require 60 credit hours under SDCL 36-32-64(1).

For later programs, the board may still license a graduate with 48 to 59 credit hours under the exception in SDCL 36-32-64.1 — but that license is not eligible to participate in the Counseling Compact.

The identical structure applies to the LPC-MH under SDCL 36-32-65 and 36-32-65.1.

Can I use the Counseling Compact with a South Dakota license?

Not as of September 2026.

South Dakota enacted the Compact at SDCL 36-32A-2 and the commission's table lists it as a member, but Compact Live = No, so no privileges are being issued or accepted through it here.

Until that changes, the route to practising in South Dakota is a South Dakota license, by application or by endorsement under SDCL 36-32-67 — three continuous years licensed elsewhere.

Note also that Compact participants must complete a state and federal fingerprint-based background check at their own cost under SDCL 36-32-95.

Find Mental Health Counselor Jobs in South Dakota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More South Dakota & Mental Health Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors & Marriage and Family Therapists.