Nebraska has no LPC license.
The Mental Health Practice Act licenses mental health practitioners across disciplines: provisional mental health practitioner (PLMHP), licensed mental health practitioner (LMHP), then licensed independent mental health practitioner (LIMHP), the tier that adds diagnosing major mental illness without consultation.
Counselors layer on the Certified Professional Counselor certificate.
The road: a therapeutic master's of at least 60 semester hours, 3,000 supervised hours after the degree with weekly face-to-face supervision, the NCE or NCMHCE, then 3,000 supervised hours for the LIMHP.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Independent Mental Health Practitioner (LIMHP) β independent mental health practice includes diagnosing major mental illness or disorder with or without consultation (38-2113(2)).
Provisional Mental Health Practitioner (PLMHP) β a license, not a registration.
It expires when you are licensed as a mental health practitioner or five years after issuance, whichever comes first (38-2123).
A master's or doctoral degree primarily therapeutic mental health in content, with a practicum or internship of a minimum of 300 clock hours of direct client contact (38-2122(1)); the board's application note requires a minimum of 60 semester hours, effective 7.12.2023.
LMHP: 3,000 hours of supervised experience in mental health practice, 1,500 in direct client contact, accumulated after the master's, with evaluative face-to-face supervision of at least one hour per week (38-2122(2)).
LIMHP: 3,000 hours supervised by a physician, psychologist, or LIMHP, one-half with clients diagnosed under the major mental illness or disorder category (38-2124).
Counseling-degree applicants pass the NBCC National Counselor Examination (NCE) or the NBCC National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE) (DHHS exam application).
The Nebraska jurisprudence exam applies on the five-year endorsement route (38-2125(1)(b)).
No separate supervisor credential is stated in the sources read.
LMHP hours: a qualified physician, a psychologist licensed to engage in the practice of psychology, or a licensed mental health practitioner (38-2122(2)).
LIMHP hours: a licensed physician, a licensed psychologist, or a licensed independent mental health practitioner (38-2124).
Enacted in 2022 (Neb. Rev. Stat.
38-4201, LB752) and Nebraska is a member, but as of September 2026 it is not among the states issuing and accepting privileges on the commission's site.
The total CE hours per renewal sit in 172 NAC 94, which was not retrieved β not stated in the sources read.
From January 1, 2027, 38-2122.01 requires a minimum of two hours of continuing education in domestic abuse counseling every two years.
A license, not a registration: 38-2123(1) routes applicants who still need the required supervised experience through this provisional license, which expires when the full license issues or five years after issuance, whichever comes first.
The state's full mental health practitioner license, but not independent practice: diagnosing major mental illness or disorder is excluded except in consultation (38-2115(2)(d)).
With the CPC certificate you may use the title licensed professional counselor (38-2116(2)(b)).
Independent mental health practice includes diagnosing major mental illness or disorder with or without consultation and psychotherapy for suspected major mental or emotional disorders (38-2113(2)).
Requires 3,000 supervised hours, one-half with clients diagnosed under the major mental illness or disorder category (38-2124).
A certificate layered on a license, not a rung above it (38-2132): a master's from an approved educational program, 3,000 hours of experience in professional counseling approved by the board after the master's, and a board-approved examination.
Only an LIMHP holding the CPC is eligible to be a licensed professional counselor under the Counseling Compact (38-2132.01).
Nebraska's counselor credential is issued under an umbrella.
The Mental Health Practice Act licenses one mental health practitioner across disciplines, and 38-2116 builds the familiar titles by combination: the mental health practitioner license plus the certified professional counselor certificate makes the title licensed professional counselor, and the independent license plus that certificate or a Counseling Compact privilege makes licensed independent professional counselor.
So the letters a Nebraska counselor carries are PLMHP, LMHP, LIMHP and CPC β never LPC as a license of its own.
The entry rung is a license, not a registration or permit, and it carries a client-disclosure duty:
Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters β see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.
βA person who holds a provisional mental health practitioner license shall inform all clients that he or she holds a provisional license and is practicing mental health under supervision and shall identify the supervisor.β
The qualifying degree is a master's or doctoral degree (or a board-determined equivalent) primarily therapeutic mental health in content, and the program must include a practicum or internship of a minimum of 300 clock hours of direct client contact.
CACREP accreditation is not required for the LMHP license itself; it matters later, on the accredited-program route to the LIMHP, where the program must be accredited by CACREP, COAMFTE, or CSWE at graduation or within four years after, or be board-equivalent (38-2124(1)(a)(i)).
What the board's application note adds is a program-size floor, effective 7.12.2023:
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
βTotal Program Hours Required (effective 7.12.2023) A minimum of 60 semester hours is required. If the master's degree was less than 60 semester hours, additional hours can be attained outside of that program to equal the required semester hours; these additional hours must be graduate hours and have a mental health focus.β
The LMHP's 3,000 hours must be accumulated after completion of the master's degree, doctoral degree, or equivalent of the master's degree, under supervision that includes evaluative face-to-face contact of at least one hour per week β so graduate-school practicum hours do not carry over, which is why the PLMHP exists.
The LIMHP requires 3,000 hours supervised by a licensed physician, a licensed psychologist, or a licensed independent mental health practitioner, one-half comprised of experience with clients diagnosed under the major mental illness or disorder category; graduates of non-accredited programs instead need 7,000 hours of experience obtained in a period of not less than 10 years (38-2124(1)(b)(iii)).
The sources read do not state whether the LIMHP's hours may overlap the LMHP's 3,000 β 38-2124(1)(a)(ii)(B) lets a provisional licensee who has passed the exam qualify for the LIMHP directly, without holding the LMHP first.
No minimum months are stated for the 3,000-hour routes.
The statute splits the LMHP hours precisely:
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
βHas successfully completed three thousand hours of supervised experience in mental health practice of which fifteen hundred hours were in direct client contact in a setting where mental health services were being offered and the remaining fifteen hundred hours included, but were not limited to, review of client records, case conferences, direct observation, and video observation.β
Nebraska routes the national exam by degree: marriage and family therapy degrees sit for the AMFTRB examination, social work degrees must pass the Association of Social Work Boards Clinical examination, and counseling degrees take the NCE or the NCMHCE.
Approval to test runs through transcript review, with an authorization letter in approximately 30 business days; the application notes most testing services require a 90-day wait before retesting, and there is no limit on the number of attempts.
The Nebraska jurisprudence exam is not part of initial licensure β it appears on the five-year endorsement route (38-2125(1)(b)).
The rule for counseling degrees:
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
βIf the applicant's degree is a mental health related counseling degree, the applicant must pass: (1) The National Board of Certified Counselor's National Counselor Examination (NBCC/NCE); OR (2) The National Board of Certified Counselor's National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NBCC/NCMHCE).β
The two tiers supervise differently.
For LMHP hours the supervisor must be a qualified physician, a psychologist licensed to engage in the practice of psychology, or a licensed mental health practitioner, under evaluative face-to-face contact of at least one hour per week; the sources read state no telesupervision provision for those LMHP hours (172 NAC 94 was not retrieved), so confirm any video arrangement with the board in writing.
LIMHP hours are governed by the board's Affidavit of Supervised Experience, effective 7.12.2021, which also requires supervision of all direct client contact with clients with major mental disorders until the LIMHP issues β not just until the hours are met β plus a review of the diagnostic criteria for those clients.
One flexibility at the start survives: rules may not require that you have a supervisor in place at the time of application for the provisional license (38-2123).
Its face-to-face floor, which expressly permits secure video contact, reads:
For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?
β(B) Evaluative face-to-face contact with a minimum cumulative ratio of 2 hours of face-to-face contact between the supervisee and a qualified supervisor per 15 hours of contact with clients diagnosed with major mental disorders, no more than 45 hours may be accumulated without such supervision. Face to face supervision may include interactive visual imaging assisted communication which is secure and confidential;β
For the non-independent LMHP, mental health practice excludes diagnosing major mental illness or disorder except in consultation with a qualified physician, a psychologist, a licensed independent mental health practitioner, or a professional counselor holding a Counseling Compact privilege in Nebraska (38-2115(2)(d)).
A consultation is not a formality β the consultant makes the diagnosis based on information the LMHP supplies and any additional assessment the consultant deems necessary, and the two jointly develop a treatment plan that allocates responsibility for each element (38-2112).
The independent tier works without that loop:
βIndependent mental health practice includes diagnosing major mental illness or disorder, using psychotherapy with individuals suspected of having major mental or emotional disorders, or using psychotherapy to treat the concomitants of organic illness, with or without consultation with a qualified physician or licensed psychologist.β
Endorsement offers two doors.
The first is for applicants whose education and experience already meet the Act's requirements or substantially equivalent requirements as determined by the department with the board's recommendation.
The second is the experience route:
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
β(b) Has been in active practice in the appropriate discipline for at least five years following initial licensure or certification in another jurisdiction and has passed the Nebraska jurisprudence examination.β
Nebraska enacted the Counseling Compact in 2022 at Neb. Rev. Stat.
38-4201 (Laws 2022, LB752) and is a member state, but as of September 2026 the Compact is not live: it is not among the states issuing and accepting privileges on the commission's site.
The eligibility gate the statute writes for counselors is unusually narrow:
For how the compactβs privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.
βThe only persons credentialed pursuant to the Mental Health Practice Act that are eligible to be licensed professional counselors under the Licensed Professional Counselors Interstate Compact are licensed independent mental health practitioners with a certification in professional counseling.β
The total continuing-education hours required for each renewal sit in the board's rule chapter, 172 NAC 94, which was not retrieved β the current CE total is not stated in the sources read.
What the statute does show is prospective: LB912 (2026), operative January 1, 2027, adds the domestic abuse CE minimum β its every-two-years cycle belongs to that 2027 provision, not to current law:
βEvery two years, a minimum of two hours of continuing education in domestic abuse counseling shall be required for all licensed mental health practitioners and licensed independent mental health practitioners under the Mental Health Practice Act.β
Effective 7.12.2023, the board's application note set the minimum of 60 semester hours for the qualifying degree, with graduate make-up hours allowed outside a shorter program.
LB605 (2024) amended the experience sections, 38-2122 and 38-2124; LB257 (2025) amended the endorsement section, 38-2125.
LB912 (2026) is operative January 1, 2027: it adds 38-2122.01, the domestic abuse CE minimum of two hours every two years for LMHPs and LIMHPs, and from September 1, 2027 it requires provisional applicants to obtain three hours of training relating to domestic abuse (38-2123(1)(d)).
Because LB912 inserts (1)(d) and a new subsection (2) into 38-2123, that section's subsection numbers shift on January 1, 2027; this page cites 38-2123 without subsection pins so the citations hold under both versions.
The hour totals and exam rules quoted on this page come from the DHHS 2026 compilation of the Act, which includes those LB912 amendments.
Since 7.21.2022 the LIMHP application has required a criminal background check based on fingerprints submitted to the Nebraska State Patrol and the FBI β the application notes it does not apply to LMHP applicants.
Your supervised experience is documented in a form and manner prescribed by the board, which may consist of sworn statements from the applicant and their employers and supervisors, and the statute bars the board from requiring individual case records (38-2124(2)).
Expect approximately 30 business days of processing once your file is complete, with 90 days allowed to complete an incomplete application.
This page summarizes the Nebraska statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Nebraska Board of Mental Health Practice, DHHS Licensure Unit publishes.
Nor does it cover social work licensure in Nebraska, MFT licensure in Nebraska, or what therapists earn in Nebraska.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the Nebraska Board of Mental Health Practice, DHHS Licensure Unit before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Nebraska that asks for it.
No. Nebraska licenses mental health practitioners under the Mental Health Practice Act: provisional mental health practitioner (PLMHP), licensed mental health practitioner (LMHP), and licensed independent mental health practitioner (LIMHP).
A counselor adds the Certified Professional Counselor certificate: LMHP plus CPC lets you use the title licensed professional counselor (38-2116(2)(b)), and LIMHP plus CPC or a Compact privilege corresponds to licensed independent professional counselor.
The regulator is the Nebraska Board of Mental Health Practice, DHHS Licensure Unit.
No. The statute requires the 3,000 hours to be accumulated after completion of the master's degree, doctoral degree, or equivalent of the master's degree (38-2122(2)), so practicum hours from graduate school do not carry over.
The provisional license (PLMHP) exists for exactly this window: you hold it while you earn the post-master's hours, and it expires when the LMHP issues or five years after issuance, whichever comes first (38-2123).
The sources read state no minimum and no maximum months for the 3,000-hour routes.
The practical window comes from the provisional license: it expires five years after issuance (38-2123), so the standard path gives you five years of PLMHP-held practice to reach the LMHP.
If your hours will take longer than five years, ask DHHS Licensure Unit before you apply how reissuance of an expired provisional license works.
It depends on the tier.
For LIMHP hours, yes: the board's Affidavit of Supervised Experience, effective 7.12.2021, states that face-to-face supervision may include interactive visual imaging assisted communication which is secure and confidential β alongside a ratio of 2 supervision hours per 15 hours of contact with clients diagnosed with major mental disorders.
For LMHP hours, the sources read contain no video provision: the statute requires evaluative face-to-face contact of at least one hour per week (38-2122(2)), and 172 NAC 94 was not retrieved, so confirm any video arrangement with the board in writing.
Not as of September 2026.
Nebraska enacted the Compact in 2022 (Neb. Rev. Stat.
38-4201, LB752) and is a member, but the Compact is not yet live, so no privileges are being issued or accepted in either direction.
Note the eligibility gate: only licensed independent mental health practitioners holding the certified professional counselor certification are eligible to be licensed professional counselors under the Compact (38-2132.01).
Until it goes live, licensure runs through 38-2122 and 38-2124 or endorsement under 38-2125.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Nebraska Board of Mental Health Practice, DHHS Licensure Unit.